Review: Shiseido Shimmering Cream Eye Color BR306

IMG_1547

There is nothing better than a great cream eyeshadow.  First of all, it is quick to apply and you usually don’t need any tools other than your fingers.  Moreover, often one colour is enough create a beautiful and multidimensional eye look and that is why I am always hunting for the “perfect” cream eye shadow.  I currently have eight!

Like many people, Maybelline’s 24 hr Color Tattoo in Bad to the Bronze is a favourite cream eyeshadow of mine.  I still love it, but it does dry out pretty quickly.  Plus, the colour comes off more metallic, and I wanted to see what other finishes were out there.

Asian drugstores are like cosmetic candy stores.  There is so much to try and the quality is usually pretty good.  In Taiwan, I purchased a cream and powder eyeshadow duo from Integrate called Heart Melty Eyes and I loved it.  The brand is owned by Shiseido so I thought, why not try a cream eyeshadow from the original source.  So I decided to pick up Shiseido’s Shimmering Cream Eye Color in BR 306.

IMG_1559

I decided to go with a safe neutral colour in BR 306.  It is a brown with a more reddish undertone with a slight shimmer running through it.  Unlike some of the newer cream eyeshadows by Tom Ford and Charlotte Tilsbury which have a much more moussy texture, this cream eyeshadow has a more similar texture to the Maybelline 24 hr Tattoo.  It is smooth and has that cream-gel texture.  I tend to like this texture more because you can dab with varying pressure to pick up as much as you need whereas I find that with moussy textures you pick up too much quite easily.

The colour payoff is very good.  It only takes one swipe and can be layered pretty easily.   Furthermore, it also blends out well.   The Shiseido website states that it should last a good 16 hours.  However, I have extremely oily hooded eyelids and even with primer (i.e., Nar Smudge Proof  Eyeshadow Base), it still fades and creases a little bit on my eyelids.

VERDICT: A quality cream eyeshadow with good colour payoff and longitivtiy.   I would want to try some of the other colours.

2 thoughts on “Review: Shiseido Shimmering Cream Eye Color BR306

Leave a Reply

