Review: msh Love Liner Liquid and Pencil Extra Smooth

IMG_1591What if you missed out on meeting Prince Charming, but got the chance to meet his younger brother?  You might hope that the apple usually doesn’t fall far from the tree, right?  Well, in this case, the apple is nowhere near the tree.

msh Love Liner Liquid is like my Prince Charming.  To me, it is almost a perfect liquid eyeliner.  The rose gold coloured packaging is sturdy and beautiful.  Moreover, I have been using it for half a year, and it still has not dried out.  I think this is mostly due to a special mechanism in the cap.  Like many Japanese liquid eyeliners, it has a brush tip which is flexible and allows you to control the width of the line.

IMG_1592

What makes this liner even better than some popular liquid eyeliners from Herione Make and Dolly wink for me is how long it stays on my eyes.  Literally, very little stays on my eyes without smudging, hence the name of this blog.  However, this liner will stay put on my eyes for 12 hours. Even after 16 hours, 90% of the line is still on my eyes.  It is a miracle!

IMG_1593

Unfortunately, the msh Pencil Extra Smooth, is nothing like prince charming.  I still wonder if I got a defective pencil because other bloggers have had a better experience.  I just don’t have many positives to say about this pencil other than it has the twisting self sharpening mechanism that the recent Smashbox pencil has.  It seems like a great idea.  However, I feel like it makes the pencil less versatile because sometimes you might duller point or longer pencil lead to work with.

The packaging is not a major problem.  It is mostly the formula.  The pencil is very patchy when applied to the eye.  It is not very good at gripping on to the eye when you draw your line.  Lastly, the colour is also not very black compared to some other pencils on the market.  I tried really hard to like it, but I just didn’t reach for it much.  To make matters worse, while swatching it on my hand, the tip broke off, and I have been unable to get the lead to move up into the lid to sharpen again. Basically, I can’t use it anymore.  Unhappy face.

VERDICT:  Loved, loved, loved, the liquid liner.  Pencil liner?  Thumbs down.

11 thoughts on “Review: msh Love Liner Liquid and Pencil Extra Smooth

  1. […] Since I have hooded, oily, and watery eyelids, I started to think I needed some hardcore eyeliner. Since I am Asian, I started experimenting with some eyeliners from Korea and Japan because I figured that they must have similar problems I have.  I actually thought I had found my new holy grail eyeliner when I tried the Etude House Play 101 Pencil.  This is definitely more of gel-type eyeliner.  It glides easily over the eyelid and lasts pretty much all day.  However, because of its creaminess, it is kind of difficult getting it sharpened after a while.  Plus, it dries out completely within a few months.  I have also been trying out the THREE Shadow Lining Performance Eyeliner and the Visee Super Slim Gel Liner from Japan.  I am sorry to report that the tips have kept breaking off and they don’t glide easily over the eyelid.  Lastly, the msh Love Liner Pencil Eyeliner also didn’t work out for me.  You can check out the review here. […]

    Like

  2. […] As you can tell, I love doing eye makeup.  I wish I felt the same way about lipstick.  This one is related to #3.  Liquid eyeliner is hard to master without a lot of practice.  A day you get your liquid eyeliner right is a good day.  My favourite liquid eyeliner, which I have mentioned many times, is the msh Love Liner Liquid. […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

