Review: Avène Micellar Lotion Cleanser and Make-Up Remover

IMG_1712

 

I love Bioderma, but it stings my eyes like crazy, even the sensitive version.  So I decided to go on a search for another micellar water.  I was strolling through the French pharmacy brand section in my drugstore and I spotted the Avène Micellar Lotion.  Since it was a marketed as a “lotion,” I was intrigued to see what skincare benefits it would offer.

The amount of product and pricing compared to Bioderma is pretty similar.  You get 400 ml, whereas the big bottle of Bioderma contains 500 ml.  Pricewise, Bioderma ($27 CAD) is a bit more expensive than Avène, but you get more product.

On Avène’s website, it is marketed as a  “Gentle no-rinse cleanser, toner and make-up remover (3-in-1).”  I do think it is more moisturizing than Bioderma.  After you wipe your makeup off, if you touch your skin, it feels moist and bouncy.

For removing makeup, it is similar to Bioderma in that it removes most makeup, either than waterproof mascara and takes a little bit more work to remove eye makeup compared to duo-phase eye makeup removers.  It stings my eyes a little bit less than Bioderma.  I am not sure why because the ingredients are very similar.  Maybe it is the Avène spring water! 🙂

VERDICT:  Overall, a solid micellar water.  The only reason I  might not repurchase is that it contains fragrance.  Since I am quite sensitive to smell, it bothered me a bit the first few times I used it.

What is your favourite micellar water?

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “Review: Avène Micellar Lotion Cleanser and Make-Up Remover

Leave a Reply

