Review: Paul & Joe Eye Color Primer

IMG_1733

There is nothing wrong with the Paul & Joe Eye Color Primer in Shade 02, except it doesn’t stop my eyeshadow from creasing as long as some other primers.  As a side note though, I do have oily and hooded eyelids.

Due to the nature of my eyelids, I am always on the hunt for a better primer.  I was actually in the store looking for the coveted Paul & Joe “cat” products, when I saw this primer.  I remember trying the Paul & Joe face primer a few years back, and loving it, so I thought this eyeshadow primer was worth a try.

On their website, it says that this product “brightens up eye colors and stays in place without caking, whilst banishing dryness in the delicate eye area.”  Interestingly enough, you are also supposed to apply foundation first on your eye before you apply this primer.  I am not sure if they are referring to their own foundation here.

Like all Paul & Joe cosmetics, it has the beautiful pastel-toned floral themed packaging that you just want to keep out on your vanity table.  It comes in a tube with a doe-foot applicator, which makes application super easy, but probably, not the most sanitary.

The texture is more watery, compared to other famous eyeshadow primers, like the Urban Decay Primer Potion.  It sinks into the skin very quickly and dries to a matte finish.  It remains a bit tacky, which compels one to think that eyeshadow will stick to it for a long time.

So how did it preform on me?  It does boost the colour intensity and create an even base for my eyeshadow (It comes in 3 shades).  It is hard for me to judge whether it banishes dryness in the eye area as I have pretty oily eyelids.  I have tried putting foundation beforehand, and applying different types of eyeshadows,  and it does stop your eyeshadow from creasing for maybe up four to five hours.  After a full day though, most of the eyeshadow would have creased or disappeared on my eyelids.  The oil from my eyelids started seeping through as well.

VERDICT: A good primer for those with normal to dry eyes.  For oily eyelids, it doesn’t have the longevity as other primers, like the Nars Pro Prime concealer.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Review: Paul & Joe Eye Color Primer

Leave a Reply

