Choose Your Adventure: Pencil Eyeliners

IMG_1867.JPG

As you’ve probably guessed from the name of my blog, I love eyeliners!  I have definitely tried my fair share of eyeliners over the years.  However, I am always willing to try more until I find the perfect one.  Recently, I’ve had some bad luck with the last couple of eyeliners I have tried and am on the hunt for a new pencil eyeliner.  As I am writing this post, I have no idea what I am getting next, but I thought it would be fun to bring you along in the process “Choose Your Adventure” style.

Brief History of my Eyeliner Journey

Over the many years that I have been using eyeliner, the one eyeliner that has stuck with me through thick and thin is the Clinique Quickliner for Eyes.  No matter how I stray, I always go back this eyeliner.  For me, it has the best combination of glide, longevity, and packaging.  In my books, it has stood the test of time.

I must say though, I have definitely strayed over the years.  When I started to hear the hype around Urban 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil and the Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel Crayon Eyeliner, I bought them both, but they both smudged pretty badly on me within a few hours.  The only one that kind of lived up to the hype for me is the Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner.  This one still smudges on me, but it lasts longer than the other two I mentioned above.

Since I have hooded, oily, and watery eyelids, I started to think I needed some hardcore eyeliner. Since I am Asian, I started experimenting with some eyeliners from Korea and Japan because I figured that they must have similar problems I have.  I actually thought I had found my new holy grail eyeliner when I tried the Etude House Play 101 Pencil.  This is definitely more of gel-type eyeliner.  It glides easily over the eyelid and lasts pretty much all day.  However, because of its creaminess, it is kind of difficult getting it sharpened after a while.  Plus, it dries out completely within a few months.  I have also been trying out the THREE Shadow Lining Performance Eyeliner and the Visee Super Slim Gel Liner from Japan.  I am sorry to report that the tips have kept breaking off and they don’t glide easily over the eyelid.  Lastly, the msh Love Liner Pencil Eyeliner also didn’t work out for me.  You can check out the review here.

Finding my Next Pencil Eyeliner “Follow Your Adventure” Style

Should I get an pencil eyeliner from:

A – a Western Brand

B – an Asian Brand

I am going to pick “A” this time because my last three Asian pencil eyeliners did not work out for me.  I think it is time to give some non-Asian brand liners a try.

So I decide to go on Sephora to check out what they have, which turned out to be 100 pencil eyeliners.  How am I going to narrow this down?

Should I narrow it down by:

A – Best Selling

B – Top Rated

C – New

I have tried a few of the Best Selling liners, so it is either “B” or “C.”  I think it is going to be a combination of both, which means something newer but also has pretty good reviews.  After browsing through the top rated section with the new products in mind, I have narrowed it down to these two, Wander Beauty Slide Liner Gel Liner,  and the tarte Tarteist Double Take Eyeliner.

Which one should I get?

A – Wander Beauty Slide Liner Gel Liner

B – tarte Tarteist Double Take Eyeliner

After checking some more reviews online, I think I am going to have to go with “A“, the Wander Beauty eyeliner.  I think the tarte one is interesting because it is double-ended.  There isn’t a lot reviews on this one yet, but just checking out reviews on tarte’s other eyeliners, they seem mixed. However, I might get this one next time.

If you have any eyeliner recommendations, I would love it!

11 thoughts on “Choose Your Adventure: Pencil Eyeliners

    1. I think they are worth trying as they are not too expensive. The black eyeliner I have got dried out, but I have a brown and nude one and they are fine. I think the quality across the pencils are not totally consistent. I haven’t tried the lip liners though. Hope that helps! 🙂

      Like

  1. I am a fan of cream eyeliners but am always on the lookout for good pencils. I am right now a fan of Maybelline’s Vivid and Smooth Eye Studio in black. It is bold, creamy and stays on all day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

