Review: Etude House Play 101 Pencils #6 and #49

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

The Etude House Play 101 Pencils have been reviewed quite a bit already.  However, I feel that since there are 50 pencils in the collection, I thought it would still be useful to review the performance of the different textures in the collection.  Plus, I have had these pencils for a while, and have been using them quite regularly, so I thought I could give a more detailed review.

On their website, it states that the pencils can be used on the “lips, eyes, and cheeks etc.”  They come in 5 different textures: creamy, matte, glossy, shimmering, and glitter.  Today, I am going to compare two pencils with different textures.  #6 is one from the “shimmering” category and #49 is in the “creamy” category.  These are twist-up pencils that come with a sharpener at the end of the pencil.

IMG_1898

I also have #50 which is like a very dark maroon.  However, I don’t own it anymore because it has dried out.  It was so dark that I pretty much used it in place of a black eyeliner.  I mentioned my thoughts on it briefly in my eyeliner history post.  In brief, it was a beautiful eyeliner that glided easily on the eyelid and lasted all day.  The only con was that it was so creamy that it became difficult to sharpen as it got all “mushy.”  It dried out towards the end as well.

IMG_1900

#49 Creamy

Since it is in the creamy range, this pencil is very similar in texture to the #50 I mentioned above.  It is a pigmented, dark matte brown perfect for everyday wear.  The pencil glides over the eyelid easily and stays put all day.  I even wore my swatches while showering and they stayed on.  Unlike #50, I found that this eyeliner was not as creamy as #50, and didn’t have the problem of it get really hard to sharpen.  An added bonus is that it hasn’t dried up like #50 on me.

#6 Shimmering

I am less a fan of this eye pencil.  It is a metallic champagne colour.  I guess, since it is not in the creamy line, it doesn’t glide as easily on the eyelid or underneath of the eye.  Initially, I thought this would be great liner for highlighting the inner corner of the eye or under the eye, Korean “aeygo” style.  However, this liner does not blend out well and can be patchy, which doesn’t make for a very beautiful highlight.  Lastly, like #49, this one also didn’t dry up on me either.

VERDICT:  These are great liners for the price.   I think I prefer ones from the creamy line more than the shimmering one, but just be aware of the creamy ones being “too creamy” and possibly drying out.

4 thoughts on “Review: Etude House Play 101 Pencils #6 and #49

Leave a Reply

