Aritaum Style Pop Brow Auto Pencil: How Does it Compare to Shu Uemura?

IMG_2014.JPG

Like many beauty lovers, I have been a die-hard fan of the Shu Uemura Eyebrow Pencil (Hard Formula) for many years.  I really haven’t “cheated” on it for a long time to try other eyebrow pencils.  However, since the Korean beauty store Aritaum opened up in my area, I can’t help buying something every time I go in.  Last time, I bought the Aritaum Full Cover Stick Concealer, and this time I came out with their Style Pop Brow Auto Pencil.  So how did it compare to my beloved Shu Uemura Eyebrow Pencil?

Both eyebrow pencils come in 5 to 6 shades.  The big difference between these two pencils is the price.  The Aritaum one is under $10 USD and the Shu Uemura one costs twice as much.  So how is that in relation to how much product you get?  With the Shu Uemura pencil, you get 4 g of product compared to the 0.2 g you get with the Aritaum one.  Value-wise, the Shu Uemura pencil wins although it costs more up front.  However, the Aritaum pencil does have a spoolie on the other end, which might be an extra consideration for you.

IMG_2013

I am Asian and have completely black brows.  I have really been loving using grey-toned eyebrow pencils the last few years.  In Shu Uemura, I am using colour #5 Stone Grey.  Likewise in the Aritaum pencil, I got it in colour #4 which is a cooler grey.  I think both colours suit me well. However, the bit of warmth in the Shu Uemura pencil suits my warm skin tone a tad better.

So how do they both look?  I seriously think there is some voodoo magic in that Shu Uemura pencil. Since the product only adheres to the oils in the eyebrow, it is very hard to go overboard and the end result is so natural.  With the Aritaum pencil, it is a bit less waxy and definitely comes on more pigmented.  Thus, the end result is more defined.  I really enjoy the chiseled triangular tip of the Aritaum pencil because it is really easy to create a straight edge on the top and bottom of the brow.  Lastly, longevity-wise, they both last throughout day.  I didn’t have problems with fading or them rubbing off.

VERDICT:  I might still prefer the Shu Uemura pencil a little more because I enjoy a more natural brow and you get more value-wise.  However, the Aritaum is great for the price and will give you a gorgeous, pigmented, and chiseled brow.  I have been using it quite a bit on a day to day basis.

3 thoughts on “Aritaum Style Pop Brow Auto Pencil: How Does it Compare to Shu Uemura?

    1. I haven’t done a full review yet on the Shu Uemura pencil. However, it is definitely my favourite because the product only reacts to natural oils in your brow, it gives a really natural looking brow. I would totally recommend it. 🙂 Thanks for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

