Review: RMS Beauty Nail Polish in Honest

IMG_2045.JPG

I went through a phase of wearing nail polish so much that my nails started peeling.  To boot, I got so used to inhaling the fumes, that I couldn’t even smell the scent anymore.  I finally thought “this could not be good for me,” and decided to take a nail polish hiatus.  I just didn’t know it would last for a couple years.

This year, I finally thought that my toe nails looked a little bare, and decided to go for a formula that was a little more natural.  However, I was told by the salesperson at my local natural beauty store that most natural nail polish don’t last long.  Not sure if this is true, but I always get sucked in by those salespeople.

She indicated that the next best option is a “non-toxic” formula in which she recommended RMS Beauty’s Nail Polishes.  I got the colour Honest, which is like muted coral colour.  The creative aspect of this nail polish collection is that all the shades are already colours in their makeup collection.   So if you already own other RMS Beauty makeup items, you can totally do the “matchy-matchy” thing.

IMG_2044.JPG

I find that most drugstore nail polishes are usually 3-free, which means free of Dibutyl Phthalate, Formaldehyde, and Toluene.  In comparison, the RMS Beauty Nail Polish is 6-free.  Even though it is says it is a 6-free formula, they list a bunch of other ingredients that it is also free of.  The list is pretty long so I will just link it here.  Plus, it is also cruelty-free and vegan.

So how  does it preform for a nail polish?  I think it applied really well. As it claims, the application was pretty streak-free and settles and even outs well.  The brush was a pretty standard width (a good comparison would be the Essie brush).  I felt like the application was pretty similar to many less toxic nail polishes.

It is pretty opaque with one coat, but even better with two coats.  I wouldn’t say it was super shiny though, but you could always amp that up with a top coat maybe.  It lasts a good 4 to 5 days on my nails with minimal chipping.  Not really a con, but if you expected a more “non-toxic” scent, this isn’t it.  It still has that traditional paint thinner nail polish scent.  Plus, it is priced at $15 USD, which is a little more than the average drugstore nail polish.

VERDICT: I would recommend this nail polish to anyone looking for a less toxic formula.  It measures up to many other more toxic brands out there.

9 thoughts on “Review: RMS Beauty Nail Polish in Honest

Leave a Reply

