Raiding My Sister’s Korean Skincare Collection

IMG_2111.JPG

 

I love skincare and makeup. However, if I had to really pick, I am totally a makeup kind of girl.  However, my sister is completely the opposite of me.  She is really passionate about skincare judged by the number of pink Memeboxes she once had piled in her room.  So I thought it would be fun to see what her skincare favourites are lately.  Specifically, skincare that she would repurchase since she is always trying out new items.   Like many in the beauty world, she is really into Korean skincare lately.

IMG_2090.JPG

Innisfree Orchid Enriched Cream

Just a little background on Innisfree first.  It is a Korean natural brand that uses ingredients from Jeju Island.  They also use eco-friendly packaging.  However, if you are a devoted ingredient checker on EWG Skin Deep Cosmetics Database, I wouldn’t say their ingredients are all in the “low hazard” category.  The Jeju orchids in the product are high in antioxidants.  On the Innisfree website, it says that this cream is great for tightening skin, reducing wrinkles, and brightening your skin tone.

Sister’s Verdict:  She likes that this brand because it is more natural.  This cream smells lovely and is not greasy when applied to the skin.  In the dry  months in the winter, she feels that this cream keeps her skin moisturized all day.  However, she did say if you layered everything in the orchid line, it does get a bit greasy.  So not as recommended for the summertime.  With regards to the anti-aging claims of this product, she can’t tell for sure, because she uses other anti-aging products along with it.

Innisfree The Green Tea Seed Cream

As you can see, my sister has been on a total Innisfree kick lately.  It probably doesn’t need mention that the Green Tea line is already super popular already.  My sister totally agrees with the hype. This cream’s main claim in moisturization.  It harnesses the benefits of green to deeply hydrate and create a barrier on your skin so that it retains the moisture in your skin longer.

Sister’s Verdict:  She says this is another great product from Innisfree for moisturization.  She prefers to use this one during the summer months because it is not as heavy.  Overall, she feels Innisfree products are very economical for the quality it offers in the products.

Now, onto some of the masks that my sister loves.  I must make a confession.  I really dislike sheet masks.  To me, it is just too much of a shock to my body to put a cold mask onto my face. Whenever I do it, I have to literally to take a big breath.  My sister, on the other hand, enjoys doing a few a week to my horror.  She has tried many sheet masks, but the ones below are some of her favourites.

L’Herboflore Hyaluronic Acid Moisture Energy Biocellulose Mask

As you can see my sister is really into moisture locking products as she has more of a combo/dry skin type.  These mask are from a Taiwanese brand and they are great for moisturizing your skin since they contain hyaluronic acid.  Unlike cloth masks, these are made with this biocellulose material and might feel really different because they are not dripping with serum.

Sister’s Verdict: She says she actually prefers these biocellulose mask because they are a bit more moisturizing than the cloth ones.

She also recommends the klairs Rich Moist Soothing Sheet Mask and too cool for school Egg Cream Mask for hydration and radiance.  If you wanted to save money, the klairs mask is are quite a bit cheaper.  They also use difference ingredients for hydration as the klair’s website states that they use half a bottle of serum in their mask, while too cool for school uses egg white and egg yolk. However, the amount of serum and fit are good for both masks.

15 thoughts on “Raiding My Sister’s Korean Skincare Collection

  1. I loved this post so much being a total skincare junkie myself. The Memeboxes are a real problem though. I have like a tower of them stacked in the corner. As soon as one arrives, I always have another on the way 😅 and the Green Tea line is amazing. Totally worth the hype as she said.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m definitely more of a skin care girl, since I tend to be less than adventurous with my makeup look. I wish I had a sister whose beauty closet I could raid! 🙂 I’m usually the one doling out samples to my in-laws and friends. I love Too Cool For School, but have never tried Klairs or Innisfree.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE Korean beauty products! Please check out my latest post I’d you get the chance, it’s a special one, and it’d mean a lot! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

