Healthy, But is it Yummy?: Avocado Strawberry Caprese

IMG_2130.JPG

Hope everyone doesn’t mind a change of pace on my blog, I have started learning how to cook the last year and discovered I have absolutely no talent is this area.  I truly admire those people that can grab ingredients and use flavours to create food according to their own taste buds.  It just seems like an entirely foreign concept to me.  I tend to follow a recipe and still have no idea what I am doing.

So I thought I’d blog about some of the recipes I have tried in hopes of helping some other beginner cooks from making the same mistakes I did.  So when it comes to healthy recipes, I always hear about this popular blog called Oh She Glows.  She shares her healthy and vegan recipes on her blog.  So I clicked on the Popular tab on her blog and decided to make this Avocado Strawberry Caprese.  It didn’t look too difficult, seemed healthy, but most importantly, is it yummy?

Step 1

The first step is to reduce the balsamic vinegar by simmering it for 6 to 8 minutes.

In My Head: “This should be straightforward.  Hmm, what is the difference between simmering at medium-high heat and simmering at low heat?  More bubbles or less bubbles?”

Results:  I was too worried that I would boil it so when little bubbles started forming at the edges, I quickly turned it to low.  As bubbles started disappearing, I adjusted appropriately.  I don’t think you can mess this step up unless you boil it till there is nothing left.  The balsamic vinaigrette tasted pretty good.

IMG_2127.JPG

Step 2

Basically chop everything and incorporate it together.

In My Head:  “No problem.  I can do this.  I even know how to chiffonade basil because I have seen someone do it on the Food Network.  What is hulling a strawberry though?

Results:  So I have only Googled this now, but the hull is actually the leaves and the core beneath the leaves of the strawberry.  I pretty much just cut on the top, but next time I will try cutting it out with a paring knife or using a straw.  Chopping strawberries and avocado was pretty straightforward.  I wanted to try that trick where you get the avocado skin off using the edge of a cup, but was too scared, so I just ripped the skin off.  I later remembered I could have used a spoon. Oops.

Step 3

Combine everything with olive oil.

Results:  There is no way this could go wrong.

Step 4

Scatter nuts and drizzle balsamic reduction.

In My Head:  “Almost done.  Almost done.”

Results:  The scattering of nuts went fine, I guess.  However, I found out there is a big difference with “drizzling” and “combining.”  I drizzled then combined the ingredients and it gave the whole thing a brownish tint.  I checked her photo and it wasn’t like that, so I had to add some fresh strawberries on top so it would look a little more appetizing (I know, I was kind of cheating).

Step 5

Serve immediately.

Results:  This is totally true.  I didn’t eat all of it the day I made it and the avocado turned brown after a couple days and it seemed kind of mushy and unappetizing the next day.

VERDICT:

Beginner Friendly – 7/10

I think this a great beginner cook recipe.  I mean, there were some steps that didn’t go as well as I planned and some terminology that might be foreign to new cooks, but it still tasted pretty good even if you mess a few things up.

Taste – 8/10

Yes, this was very yummy.  I would totally recommend this recipe.

9 thoughts on “Healthy, But is it Yummy?: Avocado Strawberry Caprese

  1. […] As I have talked about it in previous posts, I have been learning to cook the last few years.  I bought Gwenyth Paltrow’s It’s All Easy: Delicious Weekday Recipes for the Super-Busy Home Cook.  I think one of the most difficult things about moving out is having to feed yourself everyday.  This is especially hard after a tiring day at work.  That is perhaps why I found this book so appealing. Moreover, I think I also went in with the presumption that since Gwenyth wrote it, the dishes probably were somewhat healthy.  The photos are beautiful and I must admit it was fun being nosy and checking out all the photos of her children.  Everything I have made has been quick and easy, required a handful of ingredients, and mostly importantly, tasty.  You can check out my blogposts for my two favourites: Black Bean Soup and Avocado Caprese Salad. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

