Eye Makeup Remover Exes + New Friends

IMG_2153.JPG

I use a lot of smudgeproof and waterproof makeup on my eyes, so I usually need hardcore eye makeup removers to remove it.  Since I don’t want to torture my eyes with intense rubbing, I tend to gravitate toward those that make the removal as quick and painless as possible.  Till this day, I haven’t found one that I completely adore.   Here are some of my eye makeup remover exes that I have tried and moved on from.

Ex Eye Makeup Removers

Lancôme Bi-Facil Non-Oily Instant Eye Makeup Remover  (Reason for Break-Up: a bit pricey and oily on the eyelids afterwards – maybe not anymore if they changed formula)

This is a bit of a cult classic, and I have gone through quite a few bottles of this.  For me, it was the first of its kind, where you had to shake it up to combine the oil and liquid.  It really is quite “instant” in that after one wipe, most everything comes off, except super stubborn Japanese mascaras.  However, I was surprised that even the super hard to remove Majolica Majorica mascara came off if you soaked the eye in a cotton pad for a minute.  I think the only con is that it is pretty pricey ($39 USD) and you do go through it pretty quickly.  I noticed now that they call it “non-oily”, so maybe they have changed the formula a bit, but I remember it did leave my eyelids a bit oily afterwards.  Anyone have an update on this?  Overall, this is a solid eye makeup remover I always go back to once in a while.

Clarins Instant Eye Make-Up Remover (Reason for Break-Up: the scent is too strong for me)

Other than the Lancôme remover, I have also repurchased this one before.  It is very similar to the Lancôme one in that it is a dual phase remover, and similarly, it removes most makeup off pretty easily.  For some reason, I think the Lancôme one is still a bit more powerful in removing stubborn Japanese mascaras.  It states on their website, that after using, there isn’t any residue left behind, and there really isn’t any compared to the Lancôme one.  The only deal-breaker with me is the scent.  It is pretty strong, and lingers afterwards.  Although, I think those that are not sensitive to scents might love this one.

IMG_2154.JPG

Nursery Yuzu Make Up & UV Cleansing Gel (Reason for Break-Up: takes a bit elbow grease)

This is my current eye makeup remover and I have been using it for a year now.  This is a gel-type makeup remover from Japan created for professional salons.  I picked it up because it was #1 on one of their beauty review charts.  It smells really fruity like Yuzu, which I prefer over floral scents.  You can use it all over the face, but  I have stuck to my Bioderma for that and only use it on the eyes.  It removes most makeup, but takes a little bit more work then the dual-phase ones.  It does leave your eyes feeling fresh and moisturized.  I probably won’t repurchase because it just takes a little more time and work for me to remove the makeup than other removers.

IMG_2155.JPG

New Friends

Here are a couple of Asian eye makeup removers I picked up recently.  They are both dual-phase and I thought I would just give them a try.  Plus, the price point was quite good. Both of them are under $10 USD.

Mizon Natural Grain Real Oat Essential Lip & Eye Remover

Mizon is mostly known for their snail products, but with ingredients like oatmeal, papaya, and olive oil, it seemed pretty moisturizing.  First impressions so far is that it has a pretty subtle scent, removes makeup quick easily, and isn’t too oily.  So good so far.  Sometimes, it it hard to find ingredients list for Korean products, but just noticed that it does contain parabens.

Innisfree Apple Juicy Lip & Eye Remover

Innisfree is a Korean brand that tries to promote natural ingredients in their products. This eye makeup remover contains 88% natural ingredients and contains Kaolin powder that is supposed absorb any oiliest from your eyelids (that sounds great!).  The apples in this product are supposed to help moisturize and provide radiance on your eyelids (not sure I want radiance on my already oily eyelids).  I have not opened this one yet, but I will update later on the blog about how it preformed.

What is your favourite eye makeup remover?  Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks for reading!  🙂

10 thoughts on “Eye Makeup Remover Exes + New Friends

  1. Me too! I’m always looking for a good eye makeup remover, as I too wear waterproof/smudgeproof eye makeup. I’ll have to try the Mizon one — the price of Korean beauty consistently blows my mind. So far, my go-to’s are Bioderma (bought it overseas) and Koh Gen Do Cleansing Spa Water Cloths (my favorite, they never sting my eyes, which is important because I have to clean my waterline as well, but pricey).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know the price point of Korean products is so good. I wonder if everyone else is overcharging us! Oh the Koh Gen Do Cleansing Water, I always wanted to try that one. Yeah, I love Bioderma as well. It just feels so refreshing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I use the innisfree makeup remover! It worked really well on my skin, although I’m proud/sad to say I’ve used up my two bottles I purchased

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I am always looking for eye makeup remover! They always say oil free but feel super oily on the skin. EWWW. I have loved the Pixi Beauty pads – but I use 4 to get off all my paint! This line looks really interesting.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

