Youtube-Enabled Beauty Purchases

IMG_2174.JPG

I am a self-professed Youtube addict.  Personally, I think it is an ideal hobby as a beauty blogger because you can do product research as you watch (at least that’s what I tell my partner).  Looking through my collection, I realized that a big chunk of my beauty purchases have been Youtube-enabled.  In this blogpost, I am just going to talk through a few of them and how they have worked for me.  At the same time, you will also get know some of my favourite Youtubers and why I enjoy watching them.

Youtuber:  Lily Pebbles

Enabled Product:  H & M Color Essence Eye Cream

There are a few Youtubers that are must watch for me and Lily Pebbles is one of them.  I really enjoy watching her because she has that girl next door quality of someone I would like to be friends.  Plus, she just seems like a “real” person.  She doesn’t come off as someone who is just cheery all the time and is willing to share her ups and downs in life. Most importantly, she knows her beauty products and I usually agree with her reviews.

Lily had mentioned her love for the H & M beauty line in quite a few of her videos.  The cream eyeshadow actually ended up in her one of her Favourites videos (4:16 in the video).  After hearing her talk on and on about it, I just needed to get one of my own.

My Impressions

I completely agree with Lily Pebbles when she says “the quality of these are unreal.”  I have tried quite a few cream eyeshadows and these are one of my favourites (other faves include the Maybelline Tattoo 24 hr Shadows and Shiseido Shimmering Cream Eye Color). For the price ($8 USD), the quality of these are hard to beat.  They last all day on me, the packaging is chic and minimalist, and they blend out beautifully.  The texture is between a mousse and a cream which makes them easy to pick up with your fingers or a brush and apply on your eyelids.  If you find the Charlotte Tilsbury cream eyeshadows too moussy, you will love these.

Youtuber: clothesencounters (Jenn Im)

Product: Bumble and Bumble Prêt-à-Powder

Jenn Im from clothesencounters probably needs no introduction.  She is one of the most stylish people on Youtube.  I am always in awe of how she combines pieces that seem so unwearable to me into something so amazing.  I think many people don’t know that originally the clothesencounters Youtube channel had two creators, Jenn and Sarah.  I still reminisce when they used to film their fashion looks in their backyard (sorry, just had to throw in some Youtube trivia in there).

I love dry shampoo and my ears perked up when she started talking about the Bumble and Bumble Prêt-à-Powder.  Her hair always looks amazing and when i saw how she applied it by squeezing the bottle causing the powder to “puff” out, I was sold.  If you are a longtime Youtube watcher, you might remember the Oscar Blandi dry shampoo that many beauty gurus used to recommend.  One of the downsides of that product is that if you have really straight hair, some of the powder will slide down the hair and onto the floor. That is reason I switched to aerosol dry shampoos, like Batisse, because the fine mist of powder they dispense prevent this from happening.

My Impressions

I was actually a little hesitant to commit so I bought the travel size.  I will confirm that if you squeeze the bottle, the powder will “puff” out to cover the hair in more mist like fashion.  However, I am sad to report, sometimes if I am not careful, some of it will come out too fast, and get everywhere.  After using most of the travel size bottle, I can say it is a good product.  One of its major perks is that it really helps to create volume in your hair.  It also does a good job of controlling the oiliness in your hair.  However, compared to newer products, like Living Proof’s Dry Shampoo (your hair feels clean and lightweight), you do feel buildup from using it in your hair.  I not sure if that is what kind of aggravated my sensitive scalp after a while.  My verdict is that it is good, but not great.

I’d love to know if you have had any Youtube-enabled purchases lately?

6 thoughts on “Youtube-Enabled Beauty Purchases

Leave a Reply

