Will it Make the Podium?: CLIO Sharp, So Simple Waterproof Pencil Liner Review

IMG_2212.JPG

Another eyeliner and another possible disappointment.  I’m just joking.  This one, the CLIO Sharp, So Simple Waterproof Pencil Liner is not bad, but will it make it into my Top 3 pencil eyeliners?  Well, initial impressions say maybe.  Mostly, I decided to pick up this eyeliner at my local Asian supermarket because popular beauty Youtuber meejmuse often talks about how great CLIO eyeliners are.  Like her, I am Asian and have hooded lids, so I thought this eyeliner was worth a try.

One other thing I often notice is that just because something is labelled “waterproof,” it might still smudge on me.  It usually happens on the outer wing.  I do have pretty watery eyes on the outer corners, so I don’t know if the waterproofing is just not strong enough for me.  Anyone have any insights about this?

Here is just a quick rundown of my present Top 3 Pencil Eyeliners:

GoldClinique Quickliner for Eyes

SilverEtude House Play 101 Pencil

BronzeStila Smudgestick Waterproof Eye Liner

Will this eyeliner make it on the podium?

The main claims of this eyeliner are that it is super slim at 2mm, has good pigmentation, and is budge-proof against water, sweat, and oil.  It comes in black and brown.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Packaging

I really like the packaging.  It is sleek and minimalist and has an awesome click when closed.  This is a twist-up pencil, so it doesn’t need sharpening.  The tip is so thin though (2 mm) that is not difficult to make a precise line.  The liner does twist all the way in so you don’t have to worry about it hitting the lid when closing.

Application

Glide – This pencil definitely glides well over the eyelid.  There is no pulling or tugging at all. Well, it is a gel eyeliner, so I guess that is to be expected.  However, for me, a pencil that has good glide can sometimes be a good and bad thing.  I feel that gel pencils usually glide well because gel pencils tips are a bit softer than regular pencil liners.  However, sometimes the tip can get kind of soft and mushy after a while.  This one holds its shape pretty well despite the fact that on their website, it says to “dispense small amounts” because “contents may break off.”

Precision – Since the tip is so fine, it is easy to create a thin line and a pretty nice wing.  You can create a thicker line as well, but it takes longer to built it up.  As I mentioned above, since the tip is softer, you just need to dab and the colour shows up on your lid.  For me, I found that this stressed my out a little because like applying liquid liner, there was very little room for error.

Longevity

This liner lasts pretty much all day.  However, it is always the outer corners that start disappearing on me and smearing under the eyes a little bit.  Unfortunately, with this liner, it did happen after 3 or 4 hours.

Price

This retails for $12 USD on their website.

VERDICT:  I think I am going to give this eyeliner a Bronze medal!  For me, longevity always trumps and this lasted longer than than the Stila eyeliner.  However, as a gel eyeliner, the Silver place holder, Etude House eyeliner, is even more long-lasting.  Plus, the fine tip makes it an all-around more versatile liner.

13 thoughts on “Will it Make the Podium?: CLIO Sharp, So Simple Waterproof Pencil Liner Review

  1. My favorite pencil liner is Nars Kohliner, and I’ve heard great long-wearing things about The Estee Edit Inside Track Eye Kajal from fellow Asian beauty editors. Does Clinique Quickliner actually last all day without smudging?

    Like

    1. Oh I haven’t tried Nars one. Excited to have more recommendations to try for my blog! 🙂 I haven’t had an eyeliner that doesn’t smudge a little, but the Clinique has been a staple since like university. It is one of less smudgefree ones of I tried over the years. Dior and Chanel make pretty ones too, but the price is little more.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ohh this one looks like its pretty good! Thanks for the review I enjoyed reading it! I’ve been trying to find decent pencil liners that aren’t too expensive but they usually all smudge like crazy so I stayed away from them for a while. Will defs check out the Clinique and Clio one though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I have been quite enjoying it! Most of them usually smudge on me too. I have had some luck with the Korean ones recently. I guess they are made for Asian eyes. If you do get them, tell me how they go for you. Thanks so much for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

