Top 5: Favourite Japanese Beauty Products (Makeup Edition)

IMG_2233.JPG

Even though I have been really getting into Korean beauty products, my heart will always love Japanese beauty products.  Other than a MAC eyeshadow palette, I think one of my first eyeshadow palettes was from a Japanese brand called Coffret D’Or.  Till this day, I still try to buy every palette they put out.  So why do I love Japanese beauty products so much?  Well, I feel that they have some of the best products in terms of quality, packaging, and innovation in the beauty world.  If you are new to Japanese beauty, I thought I’d do a quick roundup of the top 5 makeup items I would recommend from Japan.

Coffret D’Or Eyeshadow Palettes

There is some makeup that is sentimental.  Their palettes are definitely that way to me.  As mentioned early, my first Asian eyeshadow palette was from this brand and to this day, they are still my favourite.  I can’t seem to throw any of them a way (probably not the most sanitary thing to do).  Mostly, it is because their packaging is so beautiful.  I have had palettes with lace overlays to a jewel-encrusted bow on the lid of the palette.  They are almost like miniature works of art.  Each palette is a complete eyeshadow look on its own and each look is not only different in colour, but also in the layout of the pans in the palette.  It is always fun to see what is the new concept each year.  Most importantly, the eyeshadows are really good quality and have very little fall-out.

msh Love Liner Liquid

I have tried many liquid eyeliners over the years.  The brush-type liner is still my favourite.  It gives the best control and draws the most precise line in my opinion.  Dollywink and Heroine Make both make very good liquid eyeliners, but my favourite has to be the msh Love Liner Liquid eyeliner.  I have written a more in-depth review here if you are interested.  For me, the most important criteria for a liquid eyeliner is that it won’t smudge on me and this is the most smudge-proof one I have tried.  Moreover, it has a beautiful rose-gold packaging, and has not dried out on me for months because of a special mechanism in the cap.

Processed with VSCO with f3 preset

 

shu uemura Hard Formula Eyebrow Pencil

This is a cult product and I see why everyone loves it.  Even though this is a pricier product, but if you consider the price per use, it really is quite worth it.  The formula is more waxier than some on the market, but it really helps the product to stay on your brows and keep them in place.  Plus, I don’t know how this happens, but apparently, the colour only dispenses when it hits the oils in your eyebrow hair.  I don’t know what kind of science this is!  It is great for creating a really natural brow and there is a less of a chance you will make a mistake compared to a more pigmented eyebrow pencil.

Coffret D’or Smile Up Cheeks Powder Blush (I haven’t included a photo because mine is too grubby to post)

Obviously, I am a little biased when it comes to Coffret D’Or, but this blush is rated really well on cosme, a Japanese beauty ranking chart.  This blush has a beautiful swirl embossed into it.  Within the swirl, there are three shades a light and dark blush shade and almost highlighting lighter shade on the outer part of the swirl.  I just swirl all the colours together and it gives the cheeks on a beautiful luminosity.  I feel like when you apply at first, it is not that pigmented.  The colour becomes more colour throughout the day (I know this sounds crazy).  Most importantly, it lasts all day.  I am often surprised that is still visible on my cheeks at the end of the day.

ÍPSA Concealer Palette

This is still my favourite concealer even though I tried a bunch over the years.  I know that liquid concealers have been a major hit over the last few years, but I still prefer creamier concealers.  This one comes with three different shades with a little pan on the bottom to create your own specific shade.  The formula sinks into the skin and never leaves your undereye area looking cakey.  Plus, the coverage is great and it doesn’t crease.  I love their foundations as well.

Do you have favourite Japanese cosmetics?  I would love to know.

4 thoughts on “Top 5: Favourite Japanese Beauty Products (Makeup Edition)

  1. That Shu Uemura eyebrow pencil sounds awesome! Do you usually buy it right off the Shu Uemura website or is there somewhere else you can buy it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I usually just get it from my local shu uemura counter, but I have bought from the website as well. They actually have special free shipping for brow products right now! You can get it off Sephora as well I think. Hope that helps. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

