Everyday Makeup: No Eye Makeup Edition

I had mentioned in my previous blogposts that I had gotten shingles.  It had gotten into my eye, so I haven’t been able to wear eye makeup.  I am doing fine.  However, it has been killing me because it is my favourite part of doing my makeup.  On the flip side, it has given me more time to focus on other parts of my makeup routine I usually forgo due to lack of time, such as contouring.

Base

Instead of just doing a quick application of mineral powder, I have been using liquid foundation. Lately, I have been loving the Japanese natural brand, naturaglacé.  I have just been applying their Foundation Puree in YE2 with my fingers.  It provides light to medium coverage, blurs pores and fine lines, and gives the skin a beautiful satin finish.

Concealer

On quick makeup days, I usually just apply a more full coverage liquid concealer.  However, since I have more time, I find that doing the corrector, and then concealer step still provides better coverage for darker undereye circles.  For corrector, I have used a too dark sample of the Bobbi Brown Intensive Skin Serum Concealer in Honey.  This is a lovely liquid concealer that is moisturizing, doesn’t crease, and provides medium coverage.  For concealer, I have been testing out the Covermark Bright Up Foundation (not sure why it is called a foundation).  This is a stick concealer that provides medium to full coverage.  So far, I find it provides pretty good coverage, quite creamy, but maybe a tiny bit drying.

After shingles, there remains the scars to be dealt with.  I had an especially bad scar on my nose and nothing really seemed to cover it well.  The Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer did  a pretty good job, but I had just found an unused Sephora gift card in one of my drawers (what a coincidence, right?) and decided to purchase the Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage to try.  I have always see well-known makeup artist, Lisa Eldridge, use it in her videos all the time.  It seemed so miraculous!  So far, great coverage, and really doesn’t budge.

Blush

Still loving the MISSHA The Style Defining Blusher in PK03.  This is a surprising hit for me.  It lasts a long time, smells great, and has good pigmentation.

Contouring 

Well, actually, more bronzing, then truly contouring.  Still not great at the contouring.  I have been going back to my favourite, Guerlain Terracotta Bronzing Powder in 03.  This will always be a classic because it smells amazing and just melts into your skin.  For highlighting, I have gone back to old favourite as well, which is Hourglass’s Ambient Lighting Powder in Incandescent Light (Lighting Palette).  I find it gives the perfect noticeable glow without going overboard.

Lips

This category would never have even appeared in my everyday makeup.  However, without eye makeup, I feel my face just looks kind of dead.  That is why I have made a greater effort in maintaining my lip colour.  I have especially discovered that lip tints are awesome!  I am now beginning to understand the Korean’s obsession with them.  I have been using  Rilakkuma X A’Pieu’s Water Light Tint in CR01 and really enjoying the “like you have sucked on a popsicle” lip look.  It has impact, but isn’t too in your face.  This lip tint is quite moisturizing and lightweight.  I will do a full review soon.

Thanks for reading!  🙂

11 thoughts on “Everyday Makeup: No Eye Makeup Edition

  1. this is a beautiful routine! sorry about your eyes – but on the bright side it makes you appreciate other parts of makeup more 😉 i’d love to try the laura mercier camouflage soon ❤
    thesartorialcoquette.com
    instagram: the_ch1ara

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, I don’t know what I’d do if I couldn’t wear eye makeup — I think I’d just stay home or wear sunglasses all day. Haha. I’m glad you got to focus on your lips a little more. I do love a good lip product, and while most tints aren’t moisturizing enough for my lips, I do like the look and long-last wear. Hope you’re back on your eye makeup routine soon!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it is horrible. I feel like my self-confidence has gone down a notch. My eye treatment has to go on for three more weeks, so I am so sad. Maybe I will fall in love with lip products, and have more inspiration for my blog. Thanks! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

