U. S. Haul (aka Beauty Products More Accessible in the States)

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Last week, I took a break to visit my grandma who turned 91.  If I was half as strong and vivacious at her age, I would be amazingly happy.  Other than visiting my grandma, of course, it was the perfect opportunity for me to splurge on items I couldn’t easily purchase in Canada.  I can’t say I did much research before I left, but I watch so much Youtube, I based most of my purchases on what I remembered was raved the most.  So here are some items I purchased based on the U. S. “exclusive” calling and just some items I purchased in “I have to buy something in Duty Free” mode.

it Cosmetics Your Skin But Better CC Cream with SPF 50

It seems like I never hear a bad review about this CC Cream, so I just had to try it.  It is often deemed as the CC Cream with the best coverage, and I totally agree with that.  For some reason, I assumed it would be almost like a full coverage foundation, and be thicker in consistency. However, I have used it a few times and it is pretty light-weight.  This is not like a Korean super glowy CC Cream that I have used to.  Instead, as the name indicates, it looks like your skin, but better.  I have really been enjoying quickly applying this in the morning as it also has quite a high SPF.

it Cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye Anti-Aging Concealer

Of course, I also had to get the other it Cosmetics cult product, which is their Bye Bye Under Eye Anti-Aging Concealer.  Before purchasing their products, I didn’t know the products were created by a group of plastic surgeons with an emphasis on cutting-edge anti-aging technology.  This really perked my interest as I definitely in that category where I need anti-aging.  This is a thick concealer and you really need to only apply a tiny bit.  I learned the hard way the first time I used it when I glopped way too much on my undereyes.  The coverage is excellent.  However, most importantly, I really want to find out if the anti-aging claims are true.  I will update later on my blog.

Milani Rose Powder Blush

Buying this blush really needs no justification as it is so beautiful and affordable as well.  I just don’t understand how anyone even uses it because it would totally destroy the rose pattern.  As of now, I can’t tell you about the pigmentation, longevity, or application because I simply can’t bear to use it yet.  From what I have garnered from reviews, this blush is supposed to quite pigmented and have great staying powder.  Oh no, I can tell you one thing and that is it doesn’t really have much of a scent.  That is about it for now until I can bare to use it.

Milk Makeup Coverage Duo

I stumbled onto this brand in a Sephora and I didn’t know too much about it.  However, the clean and minimal packaging caught my attention.  I decided to get the Coverage Duo which includes a rollerball liquid concealer on one end and a cream concealer on the other end.  I thought it was quite an innovative design and would be great for travel.  I have since done more research on the brand and found out that they are into using natural ingredients with minimal preservatives, which I am totally into.  I am excited to give this concealer a try and report back.

The last two products I purchased are more readily in Canada, but the duty free store at the airport was calling my name so I had to purchase them.  Very few mascaras are smudgeproof for me, and if you put smudgeproof on the packaging front and centre, I have to try it.  I am talking about the Lancôme Grandiôse Smudgeproof Wide-Angle Fan Effect Mascara.  Can’t wait to break it open when I can wear makeup again after I recover completely from my ocular shingles.  Next, of course, from the influence of Lisa Eldridge who is the current creative director at Lancôme, I had to try the Juicy Shaker.  So far, it is has been so fun to use and the finish is beautiful and moisturizing.

Do you have brands which are a must-buy when you are in the States?  My only regret is that I wish I had the chance to make a stop at an Honest Beauty Store.  Maybe, next time.

21 thoughts on “U. S. Haul (aka Beauty Products More Accessible in the States)

  1. Congrats to your granny, haha! Everything you got seems amazing, especially the blush! (I totally get the heartbreaking feeling of ruining a perfect pattern by using the product, lol 😂❤️)

    Like

  2. I was almost going to buy the Milani blush…; in the end, I bought something else, but it’s on my list and I really want to try it. According to what I have read, it is the same shade (or almost, of course!) than Orgasm by Nars. I have used the one from Nars, love it. So let’s see what this one performs… Soon. 😀

    Like

  3. I love the IT Cosmetics CC cream. I feel like it’s pretty thick for me — I used it all throughout Morocco and Spain since I couldn’t bring my usual foundations (all of which are in glass containers). That and the Sulwhasoo cushion compact was all I needed. It’s definitely a must-buy for me. I’m curious about Milk Makeup as well — is the quality worth the hype?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

