Review: Covermark Bright Up Foundation

IMG_0111.JPG

It seems like every beauty brand is putting out a liquid concealer.  Specifically, the type with a tube and doe-foot applicator.  I do enjoy these concealers, but I still really love using creamy concealers to cover my dark circles.  Maybe, it is just the deceptive feeling that something creamy must be more moisturizing for those fine lines.  My long-time favourite has been the Ipsa Creative Concealer, which is a cream concealer with three shades you can mix to get your perfect shade.

I thought it was time to try something different and decided to get another concealer from a Japanese brand called Covermark (This is the Singapore site since it is in English).  I thought the brand originated from Japan, but the brand developer, Lydia O’Leary is from New York.  On another surprising tangent, their concealer is actually called the <Jusme Colour> Bright Up Foundation.  I first discovered this concealer on the pages of Japanese magazines.  It is also always shows up on the Top 10 page of the Japanese beauty ranking site cosme.  I just knew I needed to give it a try.

Packaging

The concealer comes is this sturdy beautiful beige and gold packaging.  This is definitely high-end makeup.  This is reflected in the price as well which is $50 USD and above.  Just a note that it is quite a difficult product to get if you live in North America.  I have found it on Amazon and Yesstyle.

Formula

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Covermark claims that this concealer contains innovative technology that will blur fine lines and brighten and cover dark undereye circles.  It will also not crease and stay put for hours.  Finally, it is also fragrance-free and has SPF 33 PA+++.

It comes in 4 shades (B1, B2, Y1, and Y2) according to Covermark’s skin undertone theory. Basically, you either have blue or yellow undertones.  Since I could not physically get to a Covermark counter to get my undertone assessed, I just assumed I was Y1 and the colour is a pretty good match for me.  You can check out how your undertone is determined here.

The ingredients can be found on CosDNA if you are interested.  If you are into green beauty, unfortunately, this does contain parabens.

Application

Since this is a stick concealer, it does go on quite thick, but it blends out really well.  Initially, I applied it to my undereye area straight from the bullet, but I later learned from their website that you are supposed to use your finger to dab the product first before applying it.  You could check out the video here.  I still remember the shock I had when I saw the “big red X” over the video of the model applying it straight from the tube!  I do think that applying after dabbing from the tube spreads and layers the product better.

Coverage

This is a medium to high coverage concealer.  It is able to completely cover my dark circles.  I sometimes will layer a bit more on some darker areas.  Considering how thick the formula is, it layers really well.

Longevity

Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end sometimes.  Up to now, this products sounds perfect.  I mean, when I apply it in the morning, I always love how it looks.  The coverage is great and it is quite moisturizing.  It says that it “lasts for hours.”  This is true in that I feel like it looks pretty good for 4-6 hours.  However, by lunch time, I already feel it looks a little cakey and there is a little creasing.  I have tried applying powder, but I don’t feel like it makes a huge difference.

VERDICT:  This is a good overall concealer in that it has good coverage, blends well, and layers wonderfully.  The only cons are that it is not super long-wearing and that it doesn’t come in a comprehensive number of shades.

Leave a Reply

