This or That: Jane Iredale In Touch Cream Blush Vs. Tata Harper Volumizing Lip & Cheek Tint Review

IMG_0145.JPG

I enjoy both of these blushes so this isn’t a true “This or That” blogpost.  For me, I would probably buy both of them.  I personally find it nice to have a blush collection that can give you options. However, if you only had the choice to buy one, I hope this blogpost can give you some insight as to which one you should buy.

The blushes I am talking about today are the Jane Iredale In Touch Cream Blush in Confidence and the Tata Harper Volumizing Lip & Cheek Tint in Very Sweet.  Both come from brands that are committed to producing “clean” beauty products.  They both use natural ingredients and are cruelty-free.  However, their individual branding is quite different.  Jane Iredale has more of a focus on creating mineral-based makeup that is for problematic skin.  On the other hand, Tata Harper‘s line is more focused on using advanced technology to create effective formulas that are natural and non-toxic.

I have already done a blogpost reviewing the Tata Harper Volumizing Lip & Cheek Tint here. However, I thought it would make for a more interesting blogpost to compare it with the Jane Iredale cream blush since it might be more accessible to some (it is available at Sephora).

Packaging

IMG_0146.JPG

Processed with VSCO with c3 preset

The Tata Harper blush comes in a glass tub.  On the other hand, the Jane Iredale one comes in a stick form.  Both brands use recyclable paper in their packaging with Tata Harper also using recyclable glass.  I mean, I find both convenient to use, so I don’t have a major preference for either packaging.  I will say that the Jane Iredale cream blush stick completely fell out the package the first time I used it.  However, I pushed it back in and it was a pretty easy fix.  Hmm, not sure if that is a good thing actually.

Application

With the Tata Harper blush, you just swirl your finger in the tub and dab on the cheeks.  You are supposed to dab the Jane Iredale from the tube and then dab on the cheeks, but I didn’t read the instructions like usual.  I just put the product straight on the cheeks and then blended it out.  I personally think it works well with either technique.

IMG_0147.JPG
Jane Iredale (left) and Tata Harper (right) not blended out

Both blend really easily for a cream blush.  I think the main difference is that the Jane Iredale blush shows up like the colour in the tube before you blend it out on your skin.  It is more pigmented in colour and you can built up the colour more.  I must say that both blush are not super pigmented and give more of “natural flush.”  The Tata Harper blush really doesn’t build up much colour even if you apply a few layers on your skin.

What about the scent?  I feel like this will totally be a personal preference.  The Jane Iredale blush smells like chocolate basically.  It sounds great, but as a person that doesn’t enjoy fragrance in products that much, I didn’t really love the fragrance after a while. The Tata Harper blush smells like coconut water and berries.  Both scents don’t linger too long after application.

The Final Look

I enjoy using both blushes depending on the look I want to achieve that day.  To be honest, initially, I really wasn’t used to such a sheer formula for a blush.  However, over time, I really loved the “natural” and “healthy” flush these blushes gave me.  Like it claims on their website, the Jane Iredale does give a cream to powder finish.  Both give a subtle glow to the cheeks.  I won’t consider either one dewy though.  I think the big difference is that the Jane Iredale is more pigmented and a little less dewy.  The Tata Harper one is less pigmented but does give the subtle plumping effect or as it claims on their website, “the voluminous look of youth.”

Price

They are almost the exact same price.  The Tata Harper blush is $36 USD and the Jane Iredale is $35.

Longevity

I was surprised that both blushes last a good 8 hour work day on me.  They might not be as vibrant as when you initially applied them, but the pigment is still there.  Of the two, the Jane Iredale does last  a bit longer perhaps due to the cream to powder finish.

VERDICT:  I recommend both of them if you are wanting to get into natural cream blushes or if you want achieve that healthy flush look.

Just a note that both blushes can be used on the lips and the Jane Iredale one could also be used on the eyes.  After trying it on the lips, I find that both products were best suited for the cheeks. Both didn’t feel very  moisturizing or pigmented for my liking as a lip product.  I haven’t been able to wear eye products so I haven’t tried the Jane Iredale item on my eyelids yet.

10 thoughts on “This or That: Jane Iredale In Touch Cream Blush Vs. Tata Harper Volumizing Lip & Cheek Tint Review

  1. I’ve never heard of both the brands before but they look pretty interesting. A little bit more of the pricey side tho 😕😕😕 also another question, have you tried using Korean makeup brands?? Cuz from what I remember reading from your blog, most of the stuff you use is more of western brands. (: id like to knowwww 🙆🏻🙆🏻🙆🏻

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, unfortunately, natural products are more luxury. I have tried a bit of Korean makeup. I more into their skincare. The prices are so good and the products so effective. Actually, I will probably be doing a Korean skincare haul later on in my blog. Are you really into Korean beauty, I would love some suggestions! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so sorry that I’m so late in replying. I’ve been so busy lately my wordpress app has been neglected! However, I was wondering if you wanna talk/chat somewhere else? Maybe Facebook or Instagram? ((: would love to be friends!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

