Trying Out Cult Favourites

IMG_0281.JPG

When you haven’t experimented with a brand before, I find it is best to try out their bestseller or “cult favourite” first to get a feel for the brand.  Moreover, as a beauty blogger, I feel it is always important to know how the “classics” preform, so that you can provide a baseline for your readers in your reviews.  In the last few months, I bought three of these cult favourites to try.  So did they live up to their cult status?

Guerlain Terracotta Bronzing Powder

Believe it or not, as a makeup lover, this is the first bronzing powder I have ever owned.  Since I had no experience with bronzers, I figured it was best to go with the most renowned one.  Guerlain even calls themselves an “authority” in the bronzing department on their website, so I figured I had to get it.  The Guerlain Bronzing Powder is supposed to be mistake-proof because it blends in seamlessly to give you a natural glow.  It also has special moisturizing ingredients that don’t dry out your skin.

VERDICT:  Mistake-proof?  I would say yes unless you apply a lot.  Blends seamlessly?  For a powder, I am surprised at how easily it blends into your skin.  The colours are also very natural, not orangey at all.  Plus, the little bit of shimmer really adds a glow to your skin.  All these aspects make this bronzer a must-buy, but my favourite thing is actually the scent!

Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage

This seems to be a staple in many professional makeup artists’ kits.  So when I came down with shingles a few months ago and was left with red patches on my skin, I decided that this would be the perfect solution to cover them up.  This concealer comes in 8 shades.  Each palette has two shades which allows you to mix your custom shade.  It says on their website that is is a long-wearing formula which covers “blemishes, shadows, scars, capillaries, discolourations, redness, age spots, the nose area.”

VERDICT: The texture of this concealer is so different from anything I have used before.  It is so thick and waxy.  To be honest, it took me a while to get used correctly applying.  To start off with, I have no idea how to mix the shades together to get my shade.  I tended just to use the shade on the right.

When you apply it on the skin, it really doesn’t blend out at all.  So for the must part, I tend to dab it in with my finger or a small brush and use a brush to blend out the edges.  That is perhaps why is it is best for “pinpoint concealing” (I just took this term from Lisa Eldridge) because it really is quite dry for the entire undereye.  I will sometimes use it sparingly on the really dark areas on my undereye circles.  However, it really does wonders covering blemishes, scars, and redness and lasts almost all day even without powder.

Milani Rose Powder Blush in Coral Cove

84A9F031-285C-4F75-8CCC-C7D9AA932533.jpg
Coral Cove

As an avid Youtube watcher, I often hear this blush being raved about over and over again and how it was amazing for the price.  Finally, on my trip to Los Angeles a few months ago, I was able to pick one up.  I think the Milani baked blushes are even more raved about, but I had to get this one because of the beautiful rose pattern.  The Milani website states that these blushes give a natural glow that “shapes, contours, and highlights” the cheeks.  This blush comes in 8 shades and is able to complement every skin tone.

VERDICT: Other than the beautiful rose pattern that prevented me from using it for a week, this blush has so many things going for it.  The price is amazing, the blush is really pigmented, and it lasts all day.  I mean, the only thing I can fault it a little for, is that it doesn’t blend out as easily and evenly as some other higher-end blushes.  However, I think it almost as good or better than some blushes with a higher price tag.

All in all, these 3 cult products did not disappoint.  I would wholeheartedly recommend all three of them to anyone who is looking to spend money on reliable products to add to their collection.

10 thoughts on “Trying Out Cult Favourites

  1. That’s such a good idea! I mean, if the cult favorite product isn’t that great than how good could the rest of the products be? I’ve only tried the Milani rose blush and love it too. The rose embossing prevented me from using it for a while too XD

    Mili | Sharmtoaster

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

