Travel Tag

img_3765
The High Line in New York City is one of my favourite places in the city.  Against the hustle and bustle of the city, it is a public park built on old elevated train tracks in the Meatpacking District.

My journey in travel has evolved over the course of my lifetime.  When I was younger, I remembered one my teachers had us write down 50 things we wanted to accomplish in our lifetime.  I don’t know where the physical list has gone, but I do remember that I had written that I wanted to travel the world.  When I was a kid, I was one of those lucky enough to go to Disneyland multiple times because I had family in Los Angeles.

Then, when I finally started to make money during my university years, I decided to fulfil that travelling dream by moving to London, England for a bit.  From there, I had the chance to visit all the art museums I dreamt about visiting in Europe.  However, for the last decade, I have totally lost the travel bug, and have mostly only travelled to visit family.  Not sure what brought about this change, but maybe I thought I could find myself through travel, and ultimately I figured I could only fulfill that by looking inward.  Fast forward to today, and I feel a tiny bit of an itch again, so who knows?

Thank so much to Anna from Style Under Pressure for tagging me to do this fun tag!  You should definitely check out her version of the tag here.  She has been to so many amazing places that I would never even dream of going.  Plus, the photos she has taken from her trips are amazing. Also, her knowledge of skincare is so extensive and informative.  I have learned so much from her already.  Do check out her blog here!

Where is your favourite place you have visited?

Paris, France (Sorry, I couldn’t post any of my photos from Paris because I still used film back then) stole my heart a long time ago (it was the first city I travelled to without my family) and it is still my favourite.  There are just so many things I love about it.  Chocolate Eclairs.  Eiffel Tower (especially lit up at night).  Some of the best makeup and skincare.  Art, art, and art.  Plus, it is definitely one of the most romantic places in the world and the setting for my favourite romantic movie, Before Sunset.

As an honorary mention, I would have to say Venice, Italy.  The minute you get there, it is just so dreamy, like something out of a movie.  Plus, New York, New York, mostly because there is so much happening, so many restaurants, shows, and stores to explore.

If you could visit anywhere tomorrow, where would you pick?

Well, either than visiting family, I would probably pick Tokyo, Japan.  Being an anthropology major in university, I would love to experience the Japanese culture, which I feel is so full of oxymorons. Traditional yet modern.  Unified yet quirky.  Most importantly, I love Japanese makeup.  I couldn’t imagine being able to pick up whatever I wanted at a whim.  I would probably be broke!  Plus, I really want to get a hot drink from those vending machines!

Anna mentioned this in her blogpost also, but the ruins of Machu Picchu in Peru would be a pretty amazing place to visit since I considered becoming an archaeologist at one point in my life, believe it or not.  Sounds funny now considering that I am so into anti-aging and can’t imagine myself digging for hours in the sun.

img_0385
My family is originally from China, but I have only visited Asia last year.  This is a photo I took of the Taipei 101 tower in Taipei, Taiwan.  Such an amazing cultural experience, but the makeup was the highlight!  I could swatch and play with all the Asian makeup I wanted.

Would you rather go on a city holiday or a beach holiday?

As you probably guessed from the previous places I have travelled to, I am a city girl.  I really enjoy art, architecture, fashion, and those are mostly found in cities.

What are 3 of your holiday essentials?

Having worked many years as an amusement park ride operator in my teenage years, I think I have gotten enough sun for a lifetime.  That is perhaps why most of my essentials are related to sun protection.

  1. Wide-brimmed hat – Like Anna, I can’t live without a hat when travelling.  Often, you end up walking around so much, that it is easy to get sunburnt.
  2. Sunscreen – It is apparently the best anti-aging product and at my age that is hugely important.
  3. Internet – Sometimes, I try to remember what we did without Google Maps (We did just fine).  I love getting lost, but not all the time.  Moreover, since being a blogger, I can’t help working and checking up on my blog and reading the blogs of others.

Are you an Over-Packer or an Under-Packer?

I think I am neither extreme, but if I had to pick, I think I am an under-packer.  Except the horror of forgetting my essential skincare, I sometimes subconsciously love to forget stuff so I can go check out what they have at the local drugstore or makeup counters.

What is your favourite thing about going on holidays?

I think my favourite thing about travelling is all the unplanned moments that you talk about years after the trip.  Like the stranger that helped you when you were lost or finding an unexpected gem of a place.  Or sometimes the sticky situations that you get yourself into and manage to survive and talk about for years later on (although taking a ride from a stranger is something I’ll never do again, hopefully).

What is one place you would never want to visit?

I can’t think of a specific place, but I guess anywhere where I would feel extremely worried about my own safety.

Who would you rather go on a holiday with, family or friends?

I enjoy both, but I guess as I have gotten older, time with family always seems precious since everyone is so busy with their own lives.  Also, since travelling can be stressful, it is comforting to have family by my side.

What is the most adventurous dish you have tried from another country?

Gosh, I can’t think of any.

Who do you want to do this travel tag?

Sylliepie

Tokyo Beauty Book

Hari-Harian

BeautyandtheCat’s Beauty Blog

Rejujunate

Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “Travel Tag

  1. I loved reading this! Funny this is, as much as I love beauty, I’m kind of afraid of getting beauty products from a country where I can’t read the label. (Isn’t that crazy?) I’m not a germaphobe, but I am afraid of bad reactions with unknown products! So I only buy products in Korea or an English-speaking country, or I buy products I know about but can’t get in the States. I can only imagine all the amazing finds I’m missing out on!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

