Haul: Stepping Out of My Comfort Zone

fullsizeoutput_c39.jpeg

As I was writing this haul post, I realized there was an overarching theme to all the items that I have purchased recently.  They were all types of items that I have never tried.  Items that take me out of my beauty comfort zone.  I also realized that I had a lot of misconceptions of these products that are totally unwarranted.  I hope you enjoy this haul.

Dolly Wink Eyebrow Coat

AA363683-DB0B-442D-83EF-3B4FBF2CBA04.jpg

I have never worn brow gel.  Mostly, because I had this preconception that brow gels made your brows stiff and unnatural.  However, lately, after hearing how great the Glossier Boy Brow (they don’t ship to Canada) is from all these beauty gurus on Youtube, my interest to tame those few unruly brow hairs grew.  Since I notice that many Japanese brands put out many brow mascaras, I thought that this Eyebrow Coat from Dolly Wink was worth a try. This is not like a typical brow gel. It comes in a tube with a flat brush that looks like it should be used to paint nail polish.  The formula is supposed to be waterproof and smudgeproof and has hyaluronic acid to moisturize the brows.  It also dries quickly and is not sticky once dried.

Initial Thoughts:  It smells really strongly of alcohol.  I am still getting used to the application, but it really does hold those brow hairs.  Almost feels like you put glue in brows.  Is that how brow gel is supposed to feel?

rms “un” cover-up

IMG_0610.JPG

Cream foundation?  Haven’t used it and haven’t really thought about trying it.  Would it feel heavy and cakey?  However, if you have been reading my blog for a while, other than Asian beauty, I am super into Green Beauty.  Currently, my favourite Green Beauty base products are the Laura Mercier Mineral Powder and from Japan, the naturaglacé Foundation Puree.  However, I have always wanted to branch out and try some other “green” foundations.  I heard the rms “un” cover-up is kind of a cult product in the Green Beauty world, but also kind of a Marmite product.  It claims to not cover up, but enhance the radiance of your own skin.  It is lightweight and melts into the skin while minimizing pores.

Initial Thoughts:  I am truly surprised at how lightweight this is considering it is a cream product. Like the brand claims, it basically melts into the skin.  My only concern is that the coverage is quite minimal, almost like a tinted moisturizer.  I will have to continue testing it out to see how it wears throughout the day.

Whamisa Organic Flowers Olive Leaf Mist

8264FC0D-4A52-4449-BE99-992C9DAFD6FE.jpg

This is my first face mist.  I can’t really explain why I never really got into using face mist, except for pure laziness.  Plus, it was almost extra money that I had to spend on another part of my skincare. So what changed me?  Well, I heard that this Whamisa face mist could be used as a toner after cleansing.  I got this idea initially from Anna from Style Under Pressure blogpost here, where she talked about using it this way.  She has also discussed that this is a quick way to keep your skin moisturized before the next step in your skincare routine.  An added bonus for me is this mist contains 92.5% organic ingredients and it is water-free so it is packed full of fermented ingredients that will keep your skin moisturized.

Initial Thoughts:  I love how refreshing and moisturizing this mist is.  I think I am still having trouble with the spraying technique though.  I feel like sometimes I am missing parts of my face.  If you have used a face mist before, just wondering how many sprays you use?  Plus, how saturated should your face be?

Heimish All Clean Balm

9C34AE56-85FD-4C6A-B174-270879C1B4C5.jpg

I must admit I haven’t used an oil cleanser for maybe like ten years.  My only encounter with one was using the cult Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil many years ago.  I remember it left my dry cheeks dry and my nose area flaky after a while and since then I haven’t even attempted to go near the stuff again.  However, since joining Instagram, endless photos of the beautiful packaging of the Heimish All Clean Balm reeled me in.  I usually use micellar water and a separate eye makeup remover to remove my makeup, but a cleansing balm seemed like a quick way to remove everything at once. Other than the beautiful packaging, this cleansing balm is supposed to be great for sensitive skin (which appealed to me), and really effective at removing all remnants of makeup (I use quite a lot of waterproof eye makeup).

Initial Thoughts:  It must be the curse of the oil cleanser.  First of all, I don’t know if I love rubbing this into my eyes.  Even if I do it gently, I feel like it irritates my eyes a bit, and leaves my eyesight a little blurry.  Also, after removal, my skin doesn’t feel totally clean and like there is a film of residue left over.  Is this normal?  However, most importantly, it left my cheeks red and irritated again.  So I am putting it away for while, and hoping that it was the rose hip oil that I started using at the same time that caused my face sensitivities.

Any thoughts of your experience with these types of beauty products would be appreciated.

22 thoughts on “Haul: Stepping Out of My Comfort Zone

  1. Thanks for the shout-out smudges! I have the same issue with a facial mist (feeling like I’m not getting all of my face), so I always pat it in after misting. That way, it helps absorption and also allows me to pat the mist into areas that I may have missed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think brow gels are suppose to feel like glue… from my experiences, they hold your eyebrows in place and feels pretty much like mascara but on your brows.

    As for the balm, I love that it cleans off my makeup well but it does make my vision a little blurry, I’m careful to wash it off thoroughly! And, I double cleanse and use another cleanser after the balm so I’m not too sure about having a film. Maybe try double cleansing??

    I’m sad to hear that it irritated your face. It worked on mine really well. It doesn’t irritate my eyes whatsoever even when I use it with contacts on so idk. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the tips on the brow gel! I might have to go look for another one. Do you have any favourites? I know, I am not giving up on the Heimish Cleansing Balm!! 🙂 I’ll have to give it another try in a few weeks.

      Like

  3. The packaging on the heimish balm is so appealing! I haven’t had much luck with oil or creamy cleansers either. I love the idea of them, but they seem to just clog up my skin. Way to be brave trying out the brow gel! Those are uncharted waters for me – hmm gluey eyebrows..^^

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your photos are sooooo good! I wish I had the same kind of sense of art! I actually like the Heimish All Clean Balm, except for the fact that it doesn’t have any fragrance which emphasised the chemical kinda smell. Otherwise, my face was always left clean.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So kind of you to say that. It has been fun for me. You know, I feel that way about that chemically smell. I thought it was a natural fragrance from the product. I haven’t used it again because something made my cheeks sensitive and red and it was one of things I was using. Have to pull it out again to give it a try! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

