Eyeliner Face-Off: Lancôme Drama Liqui-Pencil vs. Make Up For Ever Aqua Eye Pencil XL Review

A7DA4633-7589-493E-B1B6-7BB4019DC481.jpg

Akin to foodies who are always on the hunt for the best brunch, I am always on the hunt for the best eyeliner.  I picked up these two pencil eyeliners as deluxe samples from Sephora a few months ago and thought it was the perfect opportunity to test them out without paying full price.  I love eyeliners from Asia, but I was super excited to try some other brands as well for this blog.  The liners in question are the Lancôme Drama Liqui-Pencil (Noir Intense) and Make Up For Ever Aqua XL Eye Pencil (Matte Black).  I am going to start off by talking about the claims of each product (just summarized from their websites) then move onto a more in-depth review.

Lancôme Drama Liqui-Pencil (Noir Intense)

  • longwear khôl eyeliner

  • glides on smoothly and softly
  • maximum colour intensity
  • all day wear
  • liquid-like creamy texture blends beautifully
  • smudge-resistant colour
  • 16 shades

Makeup Up For Ever Aqua XL Eye Pencil (Matte Black)

  • extra long lasting waterproof pencil
  • ultra-pigmented colours
  • easy application, amazingly smooth glide
  • super precise and ultra-resistant
  • creamy texture blends easily with a brush
  • 20 shades
  • five finishes – matte, satiny, iridescent, metallic, diamond

As you can see, they are pretty similar in what they offer in comparison to other eyeliners, which is a long-wearing and pigmented eyeliner.  So lets go through my criteria for eyeliner and see how they each fared.

I’ll so just say right off the bat that I probably wouldn’t be buying either liner after trying the sample.  It is just that I have a very difficult eyelids, nothing stays on them all day.  So I am guessing these might work better on someone with less oily and watery hooded eyes.  Overall, I just felt that neither them worked well enough for me to consider buying the full size.

Longevity – Lancôme

On me, both these liners will start to flake off it in bits (Lancôme) or sink into fine lines (Make Up Forever) in the outer corner of the eye after a few hours.  After a full work day (8-10) hours, they both have completely smudged on the bottom outer corner of my eyes.  Plus, I don’t find the Make Up Forever pencil that waterproof because after getting teary from cutting onions, I feel like there was even more smudging under the eyes.

Pigmentation – Lancôme

They are both very black.  However, the Lancôme is “blacker.”  The Make Up For Ever one still has a hint of grey in comparison.

Application – Make Up For Ever

In some sense this might not be an entirely fair comparison because the Lancôme liner is a khôl eyeliner.  This type of eyeliner is usually a bit more soft.  However, I found the Lancôme liner to be way too mushy during application.  Chunks of the liner would also come off the liner when you applied it.  Even worst is that when it dried, you cannot apply over top of it again to fix mistakes because dried chunks of the liner will fall off leaving a blank area on your lid.

The Make Up For Ever fared much better.  I think it had pretty good glide, although I don’t feel it is amazing like they claim.  With this pencil, you are able to redraw over the line even when it is starting to dry.

VERDICT:  I don’t recommend either one if you want a totally smudgeproof day.  Out of the two, I would probably recommend the Make Up Forever Pencil more because the application was a little easier.  Plus, the Lancôme pencil was so hard to sharpen because it was so soft.  It is probably one of those that you need to put in the refrigerator before you sharpen it.  Overall, I am disappointed that they both didn’t work for me, but I’m glad I didn’t have to buy the full to size to find that out.

12 thoughts on “Eyeliner Face-Off: Lancôme Drama Liqui-Pencil vs. Make Up For Ever Aqua Eye Pencil XL Review

  1. Great reviews. I personally have tried the Makeup Forever one and it’s still one of my favorites. I also recommend if you’d like to try, dolce and gabbana kohl eyeliner, NARS larger than life long wear eyeliner, and Lancome le style waterproof!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the original Lancome Kohl pencils which today… come in very shades. I do have the Liqui-Pencils and they stay put for me but my skin is dry. I don’t have the MUFE ones to compare to. I just bought two new Estee Lauder pencils (first timers) so I’ll see how those go. I do get frustrated when I sharpen the Lancome Liqui-Pencil because (as you said) it’s so soft. I feel like.. There went 1/2 of it!

    Like

  3. Ahhh, that’s too bad. I like the MUFE one, but then again, I always apply a liquid liner over the pencil. I just discovered Clio Kill Black Pencil Eyeliner and that’s my go-to for now. Have you tried that and if so, how did you like it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, you are not that only one who has said they like the MUFE one. I’m starting to think my standards are too high! 🙂 Does it last most of the day for you? Oh, I hear a lot about the Clio one. I bought the Espoir one instead due to a Youtuber, and now I wished I had bought the Clio one. It will be my next purchase, once I get through the three I am using right now. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. MUFE is usually good on my upper lids, though it does smudge a bit on the lower lash line if I’m having a long, active day. Clio actually lasts much better and there are less flakes that get into my contacts as the day wears on. It’s my HG right now. I’m also dying to try the Clio liquid brush liner to see if it beats Kat von D Tattoo liner.

        Like

Leave a Reply

