Trying Out a Green Beauty Cult Favourite: rms Beauty “Un” Cover-Up Review

IMG_0610.JPG

I have loved everything I have tried from rms beauty.  However, I have always been a little reluctant to try their concealer/foundation called “un-cover up”.  Mostly because it just seemed really foreign to me to use such a thick cream foundation on my face.  I guess I had this preconceived notion that it would feel very heavy on my skin.  Plus, it had a coconut oil base and I kept on hearing that coconut oil breaks you out and at my age, the thought having to deal with breakouts did not sound appealing to me!  So it totally did not make any sense when I just suddenly decided to buy it at local shop.

So?  I was totally wrong.  In fact, I think it might be one of my favourite foundations ever.  I have been wearing this on repeat the last few weeks.  And no, it hasn’t broken me out.  The whole experience of using this foundation has been kind of breakthrough to me.  It doesn’t adhere to many of the usual prerequisites I expect from a foundation.  I decided to breakdown this product use these surprising qualities.

IMG_0837.JPG
Shade 22

It comes in a glass tub

Most cream foundations usually come in stick form or in a foundation compact.  This foundation comes in a thick glass tub with a white lid.  rms states that all their packaging is either biodegradable, recyclable, or reusable.  I think this foundation would be great for traveling as it is super compact and you won’t have to worry about it leaking.

It melts into the skin

This formula is very deceiving.  It looks thick and creamy in the tub, but it literally melts into the skin when you apply it.  One second it is there and then it disappears into the skin and you are almost like, where did it go?  It is recommended you apply it with fingers, and that is my preferred choice of application.  However, you can also apply with a brush (preferably synthetic).  They also have a really beautiful brush you can purchase specifically to apply this product if you are interested.

Here are a few claims of the product from their website which I find quite unique as well:

“Apply sparingly with fingers over the T-zone area or wherever any extra coverage is desired”

Rarely, do you see a brand tell you to apply foundation only a certain area, so I found these application directions very interesting.  I don’t apply it that sparingly, but if your t-zone usually gets oily, I think applying it sparingly will minimize that from happening.  The coverage is light to medium.  It evens out your skin beautifully and covers redness.  However, I don’t find it is great at covering acne scars and pigmentation.  It can also be used as a light concealer and  I would definitely say that it is “light” when it comes to concealing.  I definitely favour it as a foundation more than a concealer as I have pretty dark circles under my eyes.

“Mineral pigments will self-adjust to your skin tone”

This claim just sounds a little too good to be true because it only comes in 7 shades.  After using it forever, I really think it does.  I’m not sure what kind of magic this is!

“Moisturizes and heals, resulting in beautiful second skin”

It is definitely moisturizing and leaves your skin initially with a satin finish.  I do agree it looks almost like “second skin.”  As the day goes by, depending on your skin type, I do find it gets quite dewy, even a little bit oily on my t-zone area.  For my dry cheeks, this is amazing because they have never looked so moisturized, but for my t-zone, it can look almost greasy.  However, this is an even fix, with some powder, and it will look great all day.  What the healing claim?  That is a bold claim.  All I can say is that I didn’t have any breakouts and my skin has looked really good the last month.

Just a few additional things I wanted to mention

rms beauty claims it will minimize pores and I can definitely vouch for that.  What about longevity? I think you definitely should powder and it lasts most of a work day.  I mean, I don’t really consider it a long-wearing foundation though.

VERDICT:  I love this foundation and would totally recommend it, not only as a green product, but just as a foundation in general.  However, I wouldn’t recommend it for someone who is looking for full coverage or a more “made-up” look.

4 thoughts on “Trying Out a Green Beauty Cult Favourite: rms Beauty “Un” Cover-Up Review

Leave a Reply

