My Current Night Time Skincare Routine

IMG_0863.JPG

Inspired by the many photos of skincare routines on Instagram, I thought I would talk about my own.  As you’ll see, I am still very into Koran skincare and am “sort of” following the Korean ten step skincare routine.  Like many, I enjoy Korean skincare because it is good value, effective, and focuses more on natural ingredients.  Most of the products are new and quite a few I picked up from the Nordstrom Korean Beauty Pop-Up shop a while back.

FIRST CLEANSE

I love double-cleansing as I feel it really takes off everything.  Not a big balm or oil cleanser fan, I actually love using micellar water.  I have been rotating between the Garnier Micellar Water and the Caudalíe Micellar Cleansing Water.  Although, after watching renowned makeup artist, Lisa Eldridge’s Youtube video about accidentally swallowing micellar water and realizing that one of the ingredients is antifreeze, I might be switching to a more natural version soon.  I also remove my eye makeup with the Innisfree Apple Juicy Lip & Eye Remover, which I have reviewed in a previous post here.

SECOND CLEANSE

I usually purchase beauty items based on online reviews, but I picked up the ID.AZ Dermastic Foaming Cleanser purely on the recommendation of the salesperson at Nordstrom.  I learned that this brand was created by a famous Korean skin clinic with 18 years of surgical experience (might be a plastic surgery clinic).  The products were initially made to treat sensitive skin after their skin treatments.

This foaming cleanser is supposed to be a mild cleanser that cleanses without stripping the skin of moisture.  It contains aloe vera extract, centella asiatica extract, and panthenol to sooth skin and comes out of the dispenser like a foaming hand soap.  I use about two pumps to wash my entire face.  My skin does not feel tight after washing, but I wouldn’t say it leaves my skin as moisturized as some other cleansers I have used before.  However, it definitely hasn’t made my dry skin patches flaky or red.

TONER

So has anyone tried the Korean skincare trend, the “7 Skin Method,” which involves patting on toner seven times!  I don’t have the patience to do 7 layers, but I try to do about 3 and I feel like it has kept my skin even more moisturized then usual.  To kickstart this process, I use the Whamisa Olive Leaf Mist, which is a wonderful organic brand from Korea.  This mist also keeps my skin moisturized right after cleansing and I use it as the first layer of toner as it is full of amazing fermented ingredients.  I love it because it smells great and sinks in super fast!

Then I pat in 2 layers of the VANT Phyto Skin Natural Formulation Phyto Ingredient Face Skin.  This is another Korean brand that strives to use natural formulations.  You can check out the ingredients on Cosdna here.  This toner is almost scentless and leaves your skin plump and moisturized.  The only con is that it is quite sticky after application and takes a little bit more time to sink in.  This is perhaps due to the natural ingredients, like birch tree sap, used in the formula.

ESSENCE

It went out of stock on Glow Recipe, but I had to repurchase the Yuri Pibu Artichoke Power Essence after it came back in stock.  I mean, it was one of my favourite skincare products from last year!  In short, it tightens pores and improves the elasticity of your skin.  I miss it when I don’t have it because I notice the difference.

SERUM

IMG_0889.JPG

Just finished the Innisfree The Green Tea Serum, which I thought was alright.  I was actually a bit disappointed because there is a lot of hype around this product.  First of all, it doesn’t smell like green tea.  I feel it almost smells like cologne!  It is moisturizing and sinks in quickly, but not moisturizing enough for my dry combination skin.  I have just started the Blithe Pressed Serum Tundra Chaga which is made of mostly chaga mushroom extract.   It is supposed to be a serum moisturizer hybrid which brightens skin.  I will have to report back later on how it worked for me.

EYE CREAM

IMG_0890.JPG

I am still using my longtime favourite eye cream, which is the Shiseido Future Solution LX Eye and Lip Contour Regenerating Cream.  It’s “special formulation” has kept my crows feet and smile lines from getting worse.  It is expensive, but I keep on buying it because I have this irrational fear that if I stop using it, all my fine lines will get ten times worse.  Plus, you really only need a pea size for every application.

MOISTURIZER

COSRX is all over Instagram, and I couldn’t help but join the hype.  It is known as more of a no-frills brands that offer effective formulations for a good value.  I have used their Advanced Snail 92 Mucin Power Essence, which I found to be very lightweight for a snail product.  Their Advanced Snail 92 All in One Cream is another story.  It is super slimy!  This is perhaps because it is made of 92% Snail Secretion Filtrate (hence the name).  I love it because it leaves your skin looking absolutely glowing, plump, and moisturized in the morning.  My only reservations of buying it again is that the application can be quite messy.

 

13 thoughts on “My Current Night Time Skincare Routine

    1. Yes! It is great for a toner as well. Just read your review, thank you for breaking down in the ingredients. It was so helpful because I am still learning about ingredients. Love your photos and your blog! 🙂

      Like

  1. I’m just starting to dabble into Korean skincare – I’ve always been partial to either Japanese or French skincare brands. The Yuri Pibu Artichoke Power Essence is intriguing.
    I’ve been wanting to try the Shiseido Future Solution line… so pricey though. I’m devoted to their WrinkleResist eye cream though, and you’re right, you only need such a small amount. Might have to be a next step up line for me…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love Japanese skincare as well, but I think lately I’ve been sucked into this Kbeauty world and I can’t seem to get out! 🙂 Yes, that Shiseido line is expensive, and luckily I only need a little. I basically collect points till I can redeem to buy it at my local beauty store. 🙂 That Wrinkle Resist eye creams sounds really good.

      Like

  2. Oooh the products you used sound so lovely! I’ve been getting so into korean skincare as well, their products are just such amazing quality and can be so affordable! Loved reading this x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I don’t know how she managed to do that unless bottled water comes in a squeeze tube. Apparently, a similar chemical to antifreeze is used in quite a few beauty products. I think it just sounds scarier than it really is. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

