Recent Roundup

IMG_20181121_142404.jpg

I thought that I would do a little roundup of things I have purchased, loved, and used up. I still enjoy blogging, but I have been really obsessed with Instagram this year, and post more regularly there. If you are interested, my instagram is itsmudges.

Recent Purchases

Herbivore Hydrate + Glow Natural Skincare Mini Collection

Herbivore is a brand that is hard to resist. It has the most beautiful and chic packaging. Their brand focus on safe and effective skincare also feels modern and appealing. I had previously never tried anything from Herbivore before so I thought this set was a perfect overview of some of their bestsellers. This set contains four products: Pink Cloud Rosewater Moisture Creme, Phoenix Regenerating Facial Oil, Rose Hibiscus Hydrating Face Mist, and Brighten Pineapple + Gemstone Glow Mask.

Quick Impressions and Review: I have used up the Creme and love it. It smells lovely (not like roses though) and gives you this dewy glow. I would say it would be a great summer moisturizer. Out of everything I have tried in this kit, the oil is definitely my favourite. It doesn’t smell to strong, sinks in beautifully, and is so moisturizing. My dry cheeks have been loving it. I am still getting used to the mask as it is different from my really moisturizing Korean mist toners. The mask is lovely as well. It is a bit tingly, but gives you the most beautiful after you wash it off.

Melvita Face Care Oil

IMG_20181028_153611.jpg

My love for facial oil continues with this purchase from Melvita. I was introduced to Melvita when I picked it up in Taiwan a few years back. Previously, I noticed it featured in a lot of Japanese magazines I read. Melvita is actually a brand from France that has been around for 30 years. They specialize in organic high-performance formulas in skincare. This particular face oil highlights the anti-aging benefits of argan oil and amino acids. As I was reading their website, I learned that argan oil is full of omegas and sterols which nourish and maintain the youthfulness of your skin. I am excited to use this oil as it says it is a dry oil. I hope it will sink in quickly unlike some other oils that will cause my makeup to shift throughout the day.

Sidmool AC Bye Trouble Skin Handmade Soap

IMG_20181118_105241.jpg

I love facial soap so I am always on the hunt for a new one. Being a longtime lover of Korean skincare, I realized I had never tried any of their facial soap. So I decided to pick this one up by Sidmool. This soap contains olive oil and snail mucus as its top ingredients and is geared towards acne prone skin. I will report back after I have used it for a while. Also, if you want to be environmental, bar soap is usually touted as the better choice than liquid soap.

Conscious Consumerism

To be honest, I don’t even know what the best term for this is. There seems to be an endless amount of terminology to describe this action. There is ethical consumerism, environmentalism, green beauty, and the list goes on. Over the last few years, I have just become more aware of what I buy and how it affects the world. I am not a saint or anything, but if I can do a few things to help the world, I thought why not? Here are a few actions I have taken to become a more ethical shopper.

Just Buy Less

I find that this is harder said than done, but I feel I have just gradually bought less over the years. I guess, having a mortgage kind of jumped started this process. I started having a one-in and one-out policy with most of my beauty products. I mean, it is not perfect or as streamlined as I wish, but I try my best. For example, I usually only own one blush, but then I do spit it into a cream and powder blush.

Refillable Makeup

2018-10-08 04.26.26 1.jpg

Nowadays, I tend to pause I think before I buy anything. It allows me to reflect on whether I truly need something, and most importantly, how my purchase will effect the environment. There are more brands that are putting out refillable makeup which I think is such a great idea. Many times, the case is so pretty, you don’t even want to throw it out. Some brands I have been loving with refillable makeup are Kjaer Weis and MiMC.

Green Beauty

Of course, the obvious way to be more ethical is to buy from brands who claim to be more clean, green, and sustainable. I know, a lot of these words have been thrown around without much respect for the original meaning and some brands just use it as a form of marketing. However, I would like to believe that there are some brands that truly want to make a difference. It is important to do your research. On the other hand, I don’t think any brand is perfect, and being conscious about your purchasing decisions doesn’t mean I nitpick every single thing that the brand does. Some of my favourites are Herbivore, Kosas, RMS Beauty, and Kjaer Weis.

If you are interested in reading some in-depth reviews of some products I have tried lately, check out my review of the RMS Beauty Signature Set in Pop Collection and Belif Moisturizing and Firming Eye Cream.

Leave a comment