Summer Essentials

I’ll be the first to admit that I am kind of vain and that I am a little obsessed with anti-aging. Over the years though, I have learned to accept that a completely “made up” face is not always necessary when going out. I mean, I can now go to the grocery store without foundation, CC cream, BB cream, or bases of any kind. However, there is one thing I never skimp on and that is sunscreen. As everyone knows, it is supposedly the most important part of your anti-aging arsenal. Here is the arsenal I am using this summer to defend myself against those harmful sun rays.

Hurraw Sun Lip Balm

Hurraw has got to be one of my favourite lip balm brands. I love the oval shape of the tube and how it fits the shape of my lips perfectly. The formula also glides easily over my lips and is very moisturizing. That is why I was excited to try their SPF lip balm last year. I enjoyed it so much last year I decided to repurchase it this summer as well. Why do I enjoy it so much? Most mineral sunscreens leave a white cast, which is not a pretty look on your lips. This one is virtually clear and it has a lovely citrus scent. Definitely my favourite SPF lip balm!

Thinksport Kids Safe Sunscreen SPF 50+

I personally love kid’s sunscreen. First of all, they smell better than the adults versions to me. Thinksport was a brand that I stumbled upon when I was visiting our local general store. I had never heard of Thinksport before this, but soon learned that they are a brand that focuses on making “safe” consumer products. Like a lot of clean products, it doesn’t contain a myriad chemicals and is also cruelty-free and gluten-free. Most importantly, how does this sunscreen preform though? Since it is a physical sunscreen, it is definitely on the thicker side, but not that bad compared to others I have tried. My favourite thing about this sunscreen is that it dries relatively matte. I hate greasy sunscreen!

Meow Meow Tweet Deodorant Cream in Grapefruit

Yes, I am one of those lucky people that doesn’t really sweat much. So I usually will opt for a deodorant most of the time. If it gets really hot, I might switch to an antiperspirant. I have used a deodorant from Schmidt’s for a long time and thought it was about time I switched things up a bit. What can I say. I always get sucked in by cute packaging and it is no different with this deodorant from Meow Meow Tweet. This is one of those tub deodorants where you have to grab a pea-size amount of the product and rub it into your armpits. Yes, I have tried the stick version of these more “natural” deodorants, but I find they tend to crumble more, so I prefer the tub version.

This is an organic, fair-trade, and cruelty-free brand. Instead of baking soda, the main ingredients of arrowroot powder and dietary magnesium help control moisture and odor. Essential oils also give this deodorant a lovely smell that doesn’t really linger too much. I find that it is great at keeping any odor at bay. You will still sweat, but it does minimize the moisture you feel. It is a great everyday deodorant, but probably not enough if you are super sweaty.

Weleda Skin Food Original Ultra-Rich Cream

I had seen this infamous green tube all over Instagram and have always wanted to try it. This cream is made of all plant extracts and is for those that have very dry skin. I had heard a light version of this cream had come out recently, so I did expect it to be thick. Boy, I had no idea how thick though! I wouldn’t recommend this as face cream, and maybe not even a hand cream. Like the script on the packaging says, this is meant for rough patches on hands, feet, and elbows. I love to apply this on my eczema and just dry patches on my skin. It has worked great in that capacity. Plus, it has this amazing citrus scent, which I love.

Leave a comment