Bite Beauty Bits

IMG_0957.JPG

It just happened.  I don’t know how.  I somehow amassed 5 Bite Beauty bits in the last few months.  Not all full size of course, or I would be broke.  A few of them are travel sizes and deluxe samples.  So what is the draw of Bite Beauty for me?

The ingredients are edible

Of course, this is a huge marketing strategy of Bite Beauty.  I am not a chemist, so I cannot totally validate this claim.  However, for a brand to make this claim, it does take some guts. If you check the ingredients, they are mostly natural and some are organic.  I do tend to favour green beauty products, so this seemed like a good choice for me.

All the coloured lip products are really pigmented

IMG_0475.JPG
Fig (left) and Meringue (right)
So far, I have tried the Amuse Bouche lipsticks, the Matte Cream Lip Crayons, and the Lip Pencil.  I have quite pigmented lips and all the colours I own show up on my lips.  On the other hand, I don’t feel that this is a line for someone who loves a sheer wash of colour on their lips.

The packaging is matte, but doesn’t get super dirty, like another famous brand with matte packaging

I have had these running around in my handbag for a few months and they look great. They don’t attract dust and dirt, like the Nars packaging does.

So now for the products!

Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Verbena, Meringue, and Fig (34 shades)

IMG_0075.JPG
Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Verbana
I feel like these lipsticks are the bread and butter of Bite Beauty.  They are pigmented, moisturizing, have good longevity, and leave lovely satin finish. If there is one gripe, for me personally, is that I don’t really enjoy the citrus-minty scent, but I can see others loving it though.

I’ve already talked about the great pigmentation of Bite Beauty products, so let’s talk about how moisturizing they are.  The lipsticks contain 12 edible oils that help to moisturize, smooth, and soften the lips.  Even without a lip balm, they are very moisturizing. Although, I do find that a lip balm underneath makes them glide on a little bit easier.  I’m most amazed at how well they glide over dry and flaky patches on your lips.  Even if you forget to use a lip scrub, you’ll be fine.  However, I don’t find it totally smoothes out your lip lines, like some other lipsticks, which I don’t mind.

D5AF0BFD-05A4-4A51-8172-0FFEE1A6069B.jpg
From top to bottom: Meringue, Fig, and Verbana
Apparently, luxurious ingredients like pearl, silk, and red wine resveratrol help to prolong wear.  I can’t really picture how something you wear on your body works on your lips, but this lipstick lasts really well.  Within a few hours, the pigmentation does fade a little, but most of the lipstick is still there.  It lasts pretty good through casual snacking (50% of the colour is there), but of course, after a full meal and wiping with a napkin, most of it is gone.

Matte Creme Lip Crayon in Pastille (18 shades)

6BE5886C-8EF0-4656-B41D-7A68DF84FD2C.jpg
Pastille (left) and 034 Lip Liner (right)
I feel like these crayons are very similar to the Amuse Bouche formula except they are more matte (obviously) and like many matte lipsticks, a little bit more drying.  I feel like when I press my lips together, my lips feel a little bit more dry.  Therefore, they work better with a lip balm underneath.  Don’t get me wrong though, these are still great for a matte formula.

Lip Pencil in 034 (50 shades)

D981A109-E9FF-46EC-8884-931960224F67.jpg

I am a totally lip pencil newbie.  Previously, getting me to wear lipstick was rare, let alone using lip pencil.  So my review, is just purely based on this one lip liner.  The lipstick and lip crayons don’t bleed or anything like that.  Therefore, do you really need this lip crayon?  I would still say yes because it just gives the lips even more definition if you are craving that look on a certain day.  Super moisturizing shea butter and great glide during application makes these a great first purchase for a lipliner beginner.  The only qualm, for some, is that you do have the sharpen them.

All in all, I love all my Bite Beauty purchases.  So much, in fact, that I couldn’t help picking up the deluxe sample of another Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Beetroot using my Sephora points.  Can’t wait to wear it!

14 thoughts on “Bite Beauty Bits

Leave a comment