Current Favourites

carpe

If you have been reading my blog for a while, I usually like to do a current favourites blogpost every few months.  I use the same format inspired by Youtuber Ingrid Nilsen’s Sense of Self where she uses the five senses to interview her guests about their favourite things.

Sight

I am sorry my “sight” favourite is always a Youtube channel, but all I watch is Youtube.  However, I must mention that I finally got persuaded to watch “Sherlock,” which is like a modern take on the classic novel.  I’m only on the second season, but I’ve been really enjoying the amazing acting and clever dialogue of the show.

With so many Youtubers nowadays, it is hard to find someone who’s videos are totally original, especially when it comes to beauty Youtubers.  Violette’s channel violette_fr is a breath of fresh air in the Youtube beauty scene.  She is a French makeup artist who now resides in New York.  French girls are renowned for being effortlessly chic, and she totally embodies that.  She often applies her makeup using only her fingers and will do her makeup tutorials, not behind a backdrop like many Youtubers, but when she is out and about.  She has done her makeup at her favourite cafe, and even in the back of a car!

Smell

IMG_0486.JPG

I am one those people that watch those Perfume collection Youtube videos with envy because I can’t tolerate many scents without feeling feeling dizzy or have a headache.  However, luckily, there is one scent I enjoy in beauty products, and that is citrus.  It could be the scent of oranges, lemon, or limes.  I enjoy them all!  I’ve been especially loving the scent of the Ole Henrikson Truth Serum Collagen Booster, which is a lovely gift from my sister.  If you love the scent of ripe oranges, you will love this serum.  The scent is not subtle.  It literally smells like freshly squeezed orange juice, almost smells a bit like a Creamsicle too.  I look forward to applying this everyday.  It is full of high powered Vitamin C which is supposed to boost collagen and minimize wrinkles.  Initially, I didn’t feel like it was doing too much, but after using it for a few weeks night and day, I do notice that my skin, especially in my forehead area, is tighter and my fine lines less visible.

Taste

IMG_0482.JPG
This is my first attempt at making them at home.  They tasted pretty good!

I really enjoy tasting new flavours from other cultures.  Maybe, perhaps due to the fact, I was an Anthropology Major in university.  I especially love trying out home cooking from other cultures, like the Vietnamese Sweet and Sour soup I talked about in my last Current Favourites.  A few weeks ago, I got to try Pão de Queijo, which is a Brazilian cheese bread.  They are like the size of little cream puffs, but they kind of remind me of cheese scones, which I love.  They have a crispy exterior and are chewy on the inside from the tapioca flour.  When I start, I can’t stop eating them!

Touch

I could not really think of anything for this category, so I am going to cheat a little.  Instead of talking about something I felt, I am going to talk about my favourite feeling.  I have really loved the feeling of wearing lipstick.  Since I couldn’t really wear eye makeup when I had shingles, I resorted to playing up my blush, contour, and lips.  It was through this experience that I started to understand the power of lipstick!  It really can make a look “pop.”  I’ve been so into it that I bought my first lipliner ever, the Bite Beauty Lip Pencil.  Since I loved their lipsticks, getting their lipliner was a no-brainer.  So far, I have found them to be pigmented and easy to draw with.  Still need to continue practicing though.

Sound

For me, sound is usually a music favourite.  I either come by new music from the radio or from Spotify, and lately I have been loving Solange.  I am a latecomer in getting to know Solange’s music, but I loved “Cranes in the Sky” the first time I heard it.  It actually won a Grammy for Best R & B Performance last weekend!  Other than this song, I also love “Don’t Touch My Hair,” which talks about being proud of your own hair.  Her voice is very soothing and soulful.

8 thoughts on “Current Favourites

  1. I just finished a bottle of that Ole Henrikson Truth Serum – and you’re right, the scent is amazing! Yes, similar to a Creamsicle. The serum is really effective too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment