Will it Make the Podium?: Wander Slide Liner Gel Eyeliner Review

IMG_1941.JPG

As the name of my blog suggests, I am always looking for that next eyeliner that will not smudge on me.  It ha been kind of a mission for me to find the best one for those with hooded, oily, and watery eyes.  You can check out my eyeliner testing history here, and the post also talks about how I came upon this eyeliner, Wander’s Slide Liner Gel Eyeliner in Smokey Black.  Here is a list of my current top 3 pencil eyeliners:

GoldClinique Quickliner for Eyes

SilverEtude House Play 101 Pencil

BronzeStila Smudgestick Waterproof Eye Liner

There are several things that I usually look for in a pencil eyeliner.  I chose to break down this review according these factors.  Just a little background first if you are unfamiliar with the Wander makeup line.  It was started by started by the supermodel Linda Ellingson and is brand that creates travel-inspired luxury beauty products.

IMG_2063.JPG

Packaging

Usually, I tend to favour pencil eyeliners that twist-up even though they are less precise (unless they come with that sharpener at the end of the pencil).   Therefore, I am not particularly fond of the fact that you have the sharpen this pencil even though it is nice to have a really sharp and precise point sometimes.  The maroon and gold packaging is beautiful and chic and it is nice to have a strip at the bottom which reflects the colour of the pencil.

Application

IMG_2066.JPGSince it is a gel eyeliner, it glides easily over the  eyelid.  Like other gel eyeliners I have tried, the texture of the liner is quite soft and easy to apply.  However, because of the softness of the pencil, it is a little bit harder to create a sharp wing.

Longevity

I think this is the category where this eyeliner may fall a little short.  It will stay on for most of the day.  However, it will start to smudge underneath my eyes in the outer corners where I wing out slightly after a few hours.  I need to touch up a little usually midday.  I mean, this happens to me with most eyeliners though.  Also, with removal, you will need something a little more hardcore than a micellar water.

VERDICT:  I don’t think it is going to make it in my top 3.  I think smudge-wise it is about equal to the Stila liner, but the Stila pencil just edges out the Wander liner because you don’t need sharpen it.

4 thoughts on “Will it Make the Podium?: Wander Slide Liner Gel Eyeliner Review

  1. I think it’s hilarious that it’s got “wander” and “slide” in the name — not promising for a smudge-proof eyeliner. 🙂 Have you tried Nars Kohliner — it’s my go-to for non-smudging eyeliners (and it’s a twist-up!) and it doesn’t dry out like gel liners.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great info thanks! Have you tried the Ardency Inn Modster eyeliner? It’s one you’ll need to sharpen but it’s waterproof and really works best for me. They have a nice selection of colors but I love their black. It’s the darkest black I own. It doesn’t budge on my lids but does budge just a very little on my waterline. Not as much as any other liner I’ve tried but I tend to apply a little outside my waterline which is why I believe that happens. I want to try another waterproof one from IT Cosmetics that I’ve been seeing good reviews on. Have you tried that one?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No I haven’t tried the Ardency Inn one, but I have heard good things about it. Thanks for the recommendation! 🙂 I have to put it on my list. I haven’t tried the It Cosmetics one either. So many to try! Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment