Weekend Trip Makeup Bag

IMG_2099.JPG

I am a lightweight girl when it comes to makeup items that I carry in my purse.  At max, I will carry a lip balm, and maybe a lipstick.  If I am out all day, I might add a eyeliner and concealer to touch up. However, if I am going away for a few days, I will bring a few more makeup items.  These are the items I will pack in my weekend trip makeup bag.  Just a note that some of the products are similar to the ones I had in my 5 Minute Face blogpost.  I guess my favourites are also products that are the quickest to apply, especially if I am mostly likely going to spend less time on my makeup while away from home.

IMG_2106.JPG

the Balm Put a Lid Eyelid Primer

I think other people would be more upset about forgetting their concealer when going away. However, for me, forgetting my eyeshadow primer is just as bad.  Mostly because I can’t really do my eyeshadow without it.  Without primer, almost every eyeshadow creases on me or starts to disappear on me within a few hours.  I have been a loyal of fan of Nars Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base for a while, but this one from the Balm has been my go-to for a while.  It comes in a tube and keeps my eyeshadow on all day.

IMG_1649THREE Correcting Concealer in 01

Other than eyeshadow primer, concealer is a must, of course.  Been trying out this concealer palette from THREE, a Japanese high-end natural and organic brand.  It comes with two shades, a setting powder, and a highlighting shade.  I been really enjoying this concealer.  It is a bit thick and tacky, but it melts into the skin when applied with fingers. The coverage is good and it is nice to have a powder to set the concealer and a tiny brush already included in the palette.

naturaglace Make-Up Cream

For the summer months, I really enjoy either a lightweight base or a CC Cream.  This product is considered also like a makeup primer, but it is also similar to a CC Cream with the SPF and super moisturizing ingredients.  It is great for moisturizing your skin and gently blurring pores and fine lines.  It is lacking a little in coverage so I usually will dust a small layer of mineral powder on top.

Laura Mercier Mineral Powder

This is my favourite base in the summer.  When you get a bit sweaty in the summer, it blends with the oils in your skin to creates a luminous and even base.  Plus, it doesn’t feel heavy on your skin like liquid foundation.  In the summer, I usually use a fluffy powder brush to apply it on the skin, so it is even lighter.

IMG_2110.JPG

Paul & Joe Creamy Cheek Color L 001 (this is limited edition, but they also have a pan version)

In the desire to not bring too many brushes, I decided to bring a cream blusher.  This blush is part of one those infamous cat limited edition sets from Paul & Joe.  It comes in squeeze tube which is great.  I just dab some onto my cheeks and I am ready to go.  You only need a little bit and it dries down to nice powder finish.  It also lasts all day, which is a plus.  Great if you enjoy powder blush without have to fuss around with bringing a brush.

IMG_2109.JPG

Clio Sharp, So Simple Waterproof Pencil Liner in 01 Black

In line with being as minimal as I can when I go away, I like to bring a twist-up pencil liner (no sharpener needed).  I tend not to bring liquid eyeliners because for me, there is a greater chance of making a mistake when I appy it and it always takes a bit longer for me (I applaud those who are fast at applying liquid liner).  Plus, the tip of this liner is so tiny (2 mm), it creates quite a nice, sharp wing.  If you have read my blog for a while, there are very few liners that stay on me all day, but this one does a pretty decent job, just a little smudging on the wings after a few hours.

Since this post is getting a little long, I will briefly talk about a few other products I brought.  This included a long time favourite of mine, which is the Shu Uemura Brow Pencil, Kevyn Aucoin Cream Duo #4 (a great cream contour and highlighter, which you don’t need brushes for), and last but not least, my trusty Visee Glam Glow Eyes palette (great pigmentation, small and compact, and Japanese shadows work great with sponge applicators provided).

Thanks for reading!

14 thoughts on “Weekend Trip Makeup Bag

      1. Ahh. Yea, I went check out more of your blog after you replied. You seem really nice (: and post stuff I’d read so 👍🏼👍🏼

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Love this post! I’m always so torn between products when traveling but I end up relieved when I pack light. I’d appreciate it if you could check out my blog (I’m a beauty/fashion/lifestyle blogger) and let me know what you think!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment